Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Streaming Services - who like what, and why?

Thanks

Streaming Services - who like what, and why?

I ask out of curiosity, and because ...., well, I'll explain that in a minute.

I'm curious as to what (if any) streaming service you use, and why you use that one. Is it range of music, is it what they have (or don't have), is it cost, is it quality of the bitstream, usability of app .... what?

To put my cards on thee table, it is JUST curiosity. I asked a similar qustion a couple of years ago, and am still using Amazon. In the interim, they seem to have added in their "HD" service to the basic (paid) service. Anyways, in line with my general detestation of subscription services, I have a 12-month subscription which only renewed in December, so I'm not looking to change. Come next December, however, my plan is to cancel and just rely on my own 'streaming' service, of my LPs, CDs, etc which should by then all be ripped to my NAS.

Is this legal? To be honest, I've given up caring. Or more to the point, as i'm not on the mod team, I no longer have to care, but if a mod thinks this goes too far ... fair enough.

My attitude, and it dates back to the 70s, is that copying an LP (or latterly, CD) that I own onto a portable media (tape, Minidisc, Walkman/personal player) for use in the car or out and about, is morally defensible, should be legal (for personal use) and in some jurisdictions, is legal. By that same logic, ripping music that I paid for, often in more than one format,to my NAS for use at home, is just another format-shift. Is it strictly legal in the UK? Dunno, but it should (IMHO) be. I know there were proposed changs to the CDPA to enable this, but I haven't checked current status.

Anyway, back on point, I'll probably cancel Amazon once I have my CDs, LPs etc all digitised. Meantime, I have until December anyway. So, I'm not changing streaming service at this point. The question is sheer curiosity.