Thread: Homeplug kit - install - what goes where?

Thanks

Homeplug kit - install - what goes where?

I am a newbie to this technology, so please bear with me.

I am struggling to understand how to install a homeplug kit, i.e. what physically goes where.

I am setting up a new Dell PC at my other house. This will be the only PC in the house. It is single story, with the sitting room fronting onto the street. The telephone point is in that wall. The PC will be in a back room. There is a thick wall dividing the two rooms. The telephone point and the PC are about 25’ apart.

I had considered a Wireless setup but then discovered about homeplug, which I understand is better.

My researches have thrown up a number of install guides and diagrams, none of which tell me what I need to know. I then spoke to a supplier about how to install a kit. If I had him right, he indicated I could have the router in the sitting room, close to the telephone point, and the PC in the back room with the homeplug next to and plugged into it. I understood the broadband connection into the telephone point would be converted by the router into a LAN connection through the mains wiring. I further understood this to be why the router could be at the front of the house, away from the PC, as the LAN connection would be fed through the wiring to the plug next to the PC and from that to the PC, so their separation by distance would not matter. That is my objective.