Thread: Cable Wireless setup - Netgear WGT624 v2 setup - PLEASE HELP

Thanks

Unhappy Cable Wireless setup - Netgear WGT624 v2 setup - PLEASE HELP

Hi There,

My first post

I recently moved over from ADSL to Virgin Cable. Now I bought a second hand Netgear WGT624 wireless router and I'm having hard time setting it all up, I'm not sure wether the router is faulty or if I'm doing something, I have set up wireless before on my previous ADSL broadband and have helped people set theirs. so i'm not a complete noob, but this cable is doing my head in..

First problem: I have tried to connect the ethernet cable directly to the computer and tried to logon the router admin page (192.168.0.1), I can't even get onto the logon page (The page cannot be displayed error):/ ?? but i can logon if use my wireless card but once I set up the WPA settings, I can't log back in anymore, keep getting the ''The page cannot be displayed'' error:O

Second problem: I don't seem to be getting no internet going through when I connect it wirelesly, I checked the router status page and theres no internet coming through the router at all, I have entered my account username and password correctly don't understand whats going on? now when i connect using the RJ45 cable from the router directly to the computer it works fine..

Any ideas? plleasee help

Thanks

Re: Cable Wireless setup - Netgear WGT624 v2 setup - PLEASE HELP

Ok I've managed to get the router working I unplugged the router and modem for a bit..

But still dont understand why I can't log into the admin section of the router using the wired method?

The late but legendary peterb - Onward and Upward peterb's Avatar
    Thanks

The previous owner may have changed the port that incoming wired connections are received. Comman changes are to 8080 or 8888. If you can get to the admin pages wirelessly, you should be able to check this (or log on with cable using the above port numbers)
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")