Thread: On games like Splinter Cell PT when I set up a server

Thanks

On games like Splinter Cell PT when I set up a server

Nobody comes in when other hosts get people within seconds. I assume it has to do with a router. If so, what kind in particular will enable me to have people access my multiplayer server.

Admin (Ret'd)
    Thanks
    I'm no expert onthis but I'd say you are probably having problems with NAT.

The problem is that you have multiple private IP's within your home network (probably 192.168.x.x, though there are other ranges) and only one public IP. So when any machine inside your network talks OUT, the router substitutes the internal private IP for the public one and sends the packets of data out. When the reply comes back, it knows which network PC to send them to, so they whole process is fairly transparent.

The problems start when data packets ORIGINATE outside your network. Then, even if sent to the public IP ('cos you've given it to your mates, or published it somewhere) the router doesn't know WHICH PC to send the data packets to.

There are two ways I can think of round that, and some security implications.

Method 1) DMZ.

Method 2) Port-forwarding.

NAT acts as a primitive form of firwall. If someone tries FTP access, for instance, and you don't have the relevant port(s) forwarded to a PC, they won't get beyond the router. But opening up any ports in the router means that unsolicited requests will get passed through the router and into your network, so generally you don't want to open any ports that aren't absolutely necessary.

So, Method 1). Some routers support a feature called DMZ (DeMilitarised Zone). Basically, it's a PC on your network that sits outside the rest of the security provisions - a sacrificial goat, if you like. You then DON'T put anything valuable or sensitive on it, but you DO put your game servers, etc. Then the worst that can happen is THAT machine gets compromised. Not all routers support DMZ though.