• Operating System:
      • Cockroach
      • Monitor(s):
      • The mental health nurses
      • Internet:
      • Please.

Network adaptor issues

Evenin'

I've got... many wireless adaptors. For some reason all of them can do monitor mode but I have a couple which also do packet injection. Because I like to play and deauth my phone for fun.

My favourite is an Alfa AWUS036NHA but this only does 2.4GHz, so I got myself a 2.4/5GHz Alfa AWUS036ACH.

I use the former in Kali quite a lot but the latter I don't use because it has been seriously unreliable and I do not know whether it is the adaptor playing up or what I'm doing in Linux isn't working as expected. Because I'm an amateur.

I have been using the ACH 5/2.4GHz adaptor under Windows 10 as my standard wifi adaptor for quite some time.

My last PC build had USB issues right from the start and so when I got wifi problems responding to a hard adaptor reset, I put it down to that and thought it would resolve on my new build. It did not.

The problem manifests as losing, in the middle of use, the IP address, etc. The IP gets listed as 169.254.177.131 (no IP given from DHCP). Windows says that it is connected to the network but there is no internet. It's like the router's DHCP is't working. It is working as nothing else, including adaptors from the same brand, manifests the same issue.

My new build has a new mobo, CPU, SSD and a fresh install of Windows 10. The problem persists.