Thread: Please help me with my new router and ICS

Thanks

Please help me with my new router and ICS

I am a total noob when it comes to WiFi and routers. I have been running an Adhoc network for a few months pretty well. Mainly just to connect my Squeezebox and PDA. But i also just got a PSP which i cant get to connect to my adhoc network. So i just bought a D-Link wireless router (router only, no modem) to sort this out and finaly get a 'proper' network.

ICS used to work fine, but with my router it just wont work. Do to being stuck on dialup for the time being, my PC has a modem which i used to be able to share nicely.

Can someone please tell me where to start?! As far as i can tell, the PC is set up right for ICS. Everything is connecting to the network and working fine (including my PSP) and i can even load up and view local webpages stored on the PC but nothing can reach the internet (such as my squeezebox's server software which has a webpage interface).

BTW, the windows firewall and routers firewall are both off for the time being.

Thanks.

Splash
    Erm, I may be missing the point but if you have a wireless wouter why are you using ICS? I used ICS once back in the days when I thought Windows 98 was king of the hill, but from memory it was a notoriously faffy beast.

From what I've read your setup goes

internet----ICS PC----Wireless Router----Other stuff

Is this right? ICS from what I recall essentially allows you to use NAT, which I suspect your router does too - double NAT (which I suspect is the situation you are in) is a pain in the rear.

Can you confirm that your setup is as I think? Once I have a bit more info we can go further down the road...

EDIT - just re-read your post which seems to confirm your setup as I thought. Can you disable NAT on the router at all?

Thanks
    "if you have a wireless wouter why are you using ICS" - but what other option is there?

I have no access to ADSL, and wont anytime soon.