Thread: Help with broadband router on Cable

Thanks

Unhappy Help with broadband router on Cable

Hey all

I am pretty much a complete noob when it comes to networking. I'm pretty computer literate when it comes to anything else, but sit me in front of router settings and network protocol and im screwed! :-D

Anyhoo, 6 of us have just moved into a house and subscribed to Telewest 10Meg broadband. We're using the install that was in from the previous tennants, its a bit messy but works of a fashion. The cable modem runs into a "safecom SBRU-10100 4-Port Cable/DSL Broadband Router" which in turn runs into a Netgear FS108 switching box. I've been learning my way round the settings and have got the internet itself working using mac address cloning and have also found the UPnP settings and turned them on so i can use BitTorrent (Azureus). However even when Bit Torrent isnt running we're experiencing MAJOR slowdown when using firefox or internet explorer. Web pages are on average taking 20-40 seconds to load and on 10 meg this shouldnt be the case. We have no idea why this could be, if anyone could help us we will be majorly grateful !

(well we're not guna buy you flowers or anything but you'll have a warm fuzzy feeling inside )

Much thanks

Martin

Large Member
    Thanks
    I guess to start you could check your line speed - http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/speedtest.asp

May be a DNS issue possibly - try a trace route to a few sites and also IPs

Try rebooting the Safecom box and also removing the Netgear switch from the equation
    Last edited by Gerschwin; 20-09-2006 at 02:57 AM.

Eye popping good!
    There was a funny quote here

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerschwin View Post
    I guess to start you could check your line speed -

May be a DNS issue possibly - try a trace route to a few sites and also IPs

Try rebooting the Safecom box and also removing the Netgear switch from the equation