• acrobat's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte DS4 965p Revision 2
      • CPU:
      • E6600
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 4gig DDR 800 (C4)
      • Storage:
      • two 320gig Seagate Barracudas, and one 750 gig Seagate Barracuda (7200.10) and a 750gig same brand.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 620
      • Case:
      • Akasa Eclipse 62
      • Monitor(s):
      • Apple Cinema Display 20"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media - Slow, expensive rip off, Indian customer service. Great choice eh? :C

Please help me sort out my own CPU temperature mess

I've been putting this off for 5 months, but now that I've sorted everything else out in my PC, and the summer is coming... I need to figure this out once and for all.

I've got an E6600 running at stock speed. I'm using an Arctic Cooling 7 Pro. I've tried fitting it about 6 times, each time with varied amounts of thermal paste. I can never seem to get a decent temperature.

Currently my temp averages 47C idle in IntelTAT (and CoreTemp). Under full load, it averages about 63C. I am pretty sure these temps are too high considering it is stock speed, and its an Arctic cooler. I want to overclock it and thats not gunna happen with these temps.

I had trouble fitting the HSF originally, but I've taken the whole motherboard out, and the little plastic connectors are all the way though the motherboard, so it seems to be securely fastened on. Also, the stock Intel HSF gave me almost the same temps.