Thread: how to choose a PSU?

Thanks

Question how to choose a PSU?

Ok i'm going to do the BIG jump....building my first pc from scratch.
    I have been doing my homework for the last 5 months until now i have realized that i do not know how to choose a decent PSU . I know that the heavier the better ( not easy to guess on the web right?!).
    I know that i need at least 350W...., any advice?

thank you very much

Banned
    Thanks
    Stick to Antec, Enermax, Sparkle, Zelman. Unless you are planning on running a large amount of stuff off it, or are looking for future proofing, a quality 350w PSU will do you fine.

Never buy Q-Tec, or other cheapo brands, as its simply not worth the risk.

Suggest an Antec SmartBlue 350w for about £50. http://www.cpucitystore.co.uk/catalo...roducts_id=334

I have one in my system, running an Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 2600+, Gig of DDR400, 9800pro, CD-RW, DVD drive, Hard Drive, Floppy, several case fans, cold cathode, system exhaust, zelamn cooler and a Volcano 12. Does the job perfectly.

Thanks
    You have to look out for those little features that help such as active PFC and stuff like that. You can't just look at one and say "oh it looks nice and it's expensive so that'll be the one"

Enermax, Antec are good for this, Q-tec i wouldn't go near.

Thanks
    • Theo's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5B Wifi deluxe
      • CPU:
      • E6600 @ 3150Mhz
      • Memory:
      • 2x2GB OCZ 6400
      • Storage:
      • 1x80GB Maxtor
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 640MB 8800GT
      • Monitor(s):
      • ASUS M221u
      • Internet:
      • Be Value
    Basically, there are two rules when buying a psu:

rule 1 - get a branded psu, eg Antec, Thermaltake, CWT, Enermax, etc
    rule 2 - branded doesn't mean Q-tec.

Personally, I'd recommend a Thermaltake Silent 420W ATX PSU DUAL FAN (dabs specs ).. I think it was £31+VAT, I'm not sure about the price now, though. It's rock solid stable, and quiet as a pea in the sahara.