Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My customized pc

Registered+
    Thanks

My customized pc

So I'm gonna costumize a PC, now I've never done this before so I'd appreciate any help you can offer. Here are the components I've come up with. Please let me know if you see something that should be replaced...

CPU: AMD BARTON 2500+ O/C
    MEMORY: TwinMOS PC3200 DDR-DIMM 2x 512
    VIDEO CARD: Sapphire Radeon 9800 Atlantis PRO 128MB
    POWER SUPPLY: Q-tec 550W
    MOTHERBOARD: Abit NF7-S nForce2 ver 2
    HDD : Was thinking of using one from my old pc. Will that affect performance alot?
    CPU cooling: I'm not sure, hope you can help me with this one. I'm planning on overclocking so I guess the cooling should be pretty good.

again any comment is appreciated...
    thanks
    /Emil -- I apologize for me english (swedish)

Thanks
    cpu cooling, get the jet 7
    hdd, get a couple of matched drives, 2xseagate 80gb for example, and run them on raid 0.

and burn ur q-tec PSU and buy anything else to replace it.

dgr
    Thanks
    [QUOTE=Russ]hdd, get a couple of matched drives, 2xseagate 80gb for example, and run them on raid 0./QUOTE]

have to say: ignore this advice completely.

raid0 gives a slight increase in performance at the expense of losing ALL your data should one of the drives in the array go.

maybe a seasoned pc user who backs up over network daily/more but please, advising a newbie to?

BADBADBAD idea.

my advice - get a quick SATA drive.

dgr
    dothan 745 @ 2.4ghz | 2gb Corsair XMS (2-3-3-6) | dual raptors (raid0) | ATI 9700pro | CM201 | dual lg 1810

Spider pig, spider pig
    Thanks
    How about this power supply:

http://web6.scan.co.uk/Products/Info.asp?WPID=59491

This CPU cooler:

The Coolermaster Aero 7+ from here:

http://www.aria.co.uk/DisplayProduct...age=4&orderby=