Thread: need a bybus - recommed a cheap un!

dgr
    Thanks

need a bybus - recommed a cheap un!

hi

i really really need a baybus to shut my fans up - 3.25 inch aluminum prefered.

only i'm tight (well i'm a student) - needs to have at least 4 * 0-7-12v switchable

any ideas?

dgr
    dothan 745 @ 2.4ghz | 2gb Corsair XMS (2-3-3-6) | dual raptors (raid0) | ATI 9700pro | CM201 | dual lg 1810

Thanks
    wouldnt bother with them tbh. all they do is make cable mess and make cases look bad. i used to have the one at ebuyer which is now only £5, i got mine for £15, before i sold it for £20
    try the 5v mod, 7vmod, and i also posted a method of 9v modding on here you could try. imo its best to always have fans resonably quiet, then to have them adjustable - also the method of reducing voltage for fans (PWM) makes them slightly nioseyer, sorta like mains hum you get from speakers/lights, but much higher freq, as the switching is done about 400hz.

dgr
    Thanks
    hmm, thing is i was going to keep my pc clocked as standard unless i was doing any compiling/gaming/DV.

i recently got a linux box with ONE 40mm fan (21db) and that has started making me HATE the noise my main rig makes.

wish i'd got a laptop.... .

dgr
    dothan 745 @ 2.4ghz | 2gb Corsair XMS (2-3-3-6) | dual raptors (raid0) | ATI 9700pro | CM201 | dual lg 1810

dgr
    Thanks
    oh and stupid question maybe:

my 201 has 4 case fans, and after turning them ALL off, the case is noticably quieter - how useful are they? can i get away with keeping 2 of them off 24/7?

and the antec PSU (430w) is pretty loud - 2 * 80mm fans - and easy ways of silencing that? (short of changing the fans over).

dgr

Banned
    Thanks
    I have the £5 ebuyer one, really does help, and i have a pretty small case so wires are no problem, (run them behind the motherboard?)...

I't really does shut fans up; i have two on it, always set for low, one sucks air in, the other blows air out, i could have three but can't be bothered.