Thread: 2.8MO@4201mhz.P4C800E @300.1fsb maxxed?Weird?

Registered+
    Thanks

Arrow 2.8MO@4201mhz.P4C800E @300.1fsb maxxed?Weird?

I started playing a bit with clockgen in order to see how my replacement board does and i was able to get 4201mhz this time from my Costa Rica 2.8Mo cpu that did 4176mhz last time on the dead board...

upping the vcore @ 1.725 didnt get me as high as 295fsb IIRC...The pc rebooted...

@ 1.75Vcore i was able to get the same clock..300fsb...it rebooted nearly instantly.

so i pushed the same voltage as with my old board...1.85V...i got the same clock 4201Mhz and then the pc froze...

My board is the P4C800E Deluxe with a Vdimm mod @ 3.35V.It was running @ 300.1fsb according to clockgen.

Is my board holding me back or is it the cpu itself?

+.1VCore got me nowhere higher :

The board is the new revision 2 and i have no heatsinks stuck on The mosfets or the southbridge like last time and even more important what i am cooling the NB with is the stock asus heatsink with a fan running quite low rpm on top of it, whereas last time i was Watercooling the NB with a waterchill NB block.

Heres the cpuid screen i got using my digi cam...since my rig froze...

heres what the setup looks like this time:

So does it look like my board is holding me back?

My ram can do 255fsb 1:1 set @ 2 2 2 5
    Turbo , perf mode enabled etc.

chipset volt set @ 1.7V

Registered+
    Thanks
    Will prolly try unlocking my agp and pci to see if that will take me higher when i got time...

Thanks
    It could be that the as the AGP/PCI are not locked they are getting knackered that could cause the rebooting/crashing. However i would say that it is the CPU that is limting you. 1.2ghz overclock is very impressive.

What happens if you slacken your RAM timings? as that maybe causing the rebooting.....

Will
    | XP1600-m | ASUS AN78X Deluxe | r9700 pro | 2x512mb pc37000 |

Registered+
    Thanks