Thread: £500 complete computer spec?

Registered+
    Thanks

£500 complete computer spec?

Hi,

I'm trying to build a machine with a £500 budget. With the below, I have £12 spare (at current scan prices), so was wondering what you guys thought of it, whether I could improve things to make use of those few extra few pounds, or leave it as-is, or even save money somewhere! I'm planning to use it for a few years old games and general office stuff/email/web/watching DVDs (maybe encoding DVDs occasionally) etc, but I would like to be able to upgrade things in the future. So for example I know that I could upgrade the processor and graphics card hopefully with not too much difficulty (as my needs will no doubt change!), as the motherboard would support it. Any opinions greatly appreciated. Oh -- I'm quite new to this sort of thing, so if there's any reason to not get this combination -- incompatibilities anywhere, for example -- finding out about that would be great too! I've only been on this forum for a couple of days, and already you guys have shown yourselves to be knowledgable and helpful!

Also, if there's anything blindingly obvious that I've not included please let me know -- I have a mouse and keyboard, but I need everything else.

Thanks a lot,
    Jonathan

Wireless card: LN8848: Edimax EW-7128G 54Mbps Wireless PCI Card: £11.15
    Memory: LN11596: 2GB (2x1GB) Corsair TwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800), 240 Pins, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-18: £22.67
    Heatsink: LN13081: Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro V2 - (Socket 754, 939, AM2) + ALL AMD Opteron: £12.87
    Monitor: LN19203: 22" Neovo H-W22 Widescreen LCD, Thin, 1680x1050, DVI, 2000:1, 300 cd/m2, 3 ms, Speakers, DVI Cable: £135.63
    Harddisk: LN22903: 640GB Samsung HD642JJ Spinpoint F1, SATA II, 7200 rpm, 16MB Cache, 8.9 ms, NCQ: £45.70
    DVDRW: LN23007: Samsung SH-S223F/BEBE 22x DVD±R, 12x DVD±R, DVD+RW x8/-RW x6, SATA, Black, OEM: £15.04