Thread: Complete beginner: How do I take HDD, graphics card out of PC?

Thanks

Question Complete beginner: How do I remove HDDs from PC?

Ok, complete beginner to the hardware side of things here (artist), never opened a PC myself til today tho seen it done and have a rough idea of what's what (motherboard, dvd drive, dvd+-rw drive, flash drive, floppy drive, 2 hard disks, cpu {pentium 4 2.6ghz}+heatsink+fan stacked up, graphics card {radeon 9200}, modem card, 2x512mb RAM sticks).

The computer's totally dead (black screen died in the middle of using it, definitely a problem with the PC and not the monitor as I tried the same monitor on an even more ancient win95 pc - am guessing graphics card issue).

I have a new PC arriving tomorrow, and looking to salvage the hard drives or at least the data - or even get it working again who knows; it's very dusty hasn't been opened in at least 2 years, thick coating of grey fluff over the graphics card and sides of case, may be why it "died" I'm not sure. Been using a hoover with a sock over the end (to try avoid getting so much suction that it starts pulling components off) to try clean up. Not sure if there's a better or safer thing to get for this kind of thing in future?

Whole thing's going to the tip to be recycled otherwise, maybe selling off the DVD+-RW or others so not wasted - assuming I can work out how to remove things from the motherboard without breaking anyway.

I'd post a photo but currently my only internet access is through my Wii (got keyboard plugged into one of the USB slots on the back, virtual keyboard pointy thing is slooow even when you get good at it) unfortunately, so I can't do stuff like uploads.