Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete beginner, looking for advice with building PC

Registered+
    Thanks

Complete beginner, looking for advice with building PC

Hi there. I'm about to embark upon my first computer build. I've pretty much zero experience with computer hardware, or technical knowledge so you'll have to bear with me. Actually, my main motivation for this is to educate myself on the ins and outs of computer hardware.

I'm a student so my finances are limited (not that limited finances aren't the norm right about now). Hoping to put together a cheap rig, about £500 inc. monitor, keyboard etc... with the idea of general office tasks, running intensive simulations/calculations, and maybe some light gaming. I'm not foolish enough to believe I can pick up a top end gaming machine on such a budget.

One key element I'm interested in is the oppertunity for future upgrade. Ideally, I'd like this to be the only time I have to invest in a brand new PC for the next 4/5 years. Upgradability is my other main motivation for building my own.

So my assumption is I need to pick up a pretty new, mid/high end motherboard which should serve for my desired duration. Tag onto it a standard dual core and a HD4650 for graphics, about 4GB RAM and a 250HDD. I can easily upgrade all those components above (aside from motherboard) easily, right?

If anyone has any advice on the above it's welcome, but where I'm getting rather confused (this is where my lack of tech knowledge is letting me down) is on aspects such as processor/motherboard/graphics card compatibility. Also cooling and PSU. and any cheap source of monitors would be appreciated. Is it a risk to buy an older monitor second hand?

Finally, I was curious about hybrid crossfire. Again I must admit to knowing little except the basic concept, is it something worth looking out for or is it's overall performance boost negligable?

Cheers for any info, apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

Thanks