Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete beginner, looking for advice with building PC

Registered+
    Thanks

Re: Complete beginner, looking for advice with building PC

Thanks again, some of these model builds are quite helpful.

Something I've always wondered is what happens the first time I turn on a PC that's been custom built. Does some of the hardware have pre-installed drives and software which allows you to get the OS and other drivers installed?

Gentoo Ricer
    Thanks
    • aidanjt's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Strix Z370-G
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7-8700K
      • Memory:
      • 2x8GB Corsiar LPX 3000C15
      • Storage:
      • 500GB Samsung 960 EVO
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
      • PSU:
      • EVGA G3 750W
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define C Mini
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Asus MG279Q
      • Internet:
      • 240mbps Virgin Cable

Quote Originally Posted by Hologide View Post
    Something I've always wondered is what happens the first time I turn on a PC that's been custom built. Does some of the hardware have pre-installed drives and software which allows you to get the OS and other drivers installed?
    The BIOS bootstraps the hardware, and loads bootsector code from whatever storage medium you choose, usually (the default) from the CD/DVD drive, that then loads the pre-installation operating system from the disc, and begins the setup programme to install the operating system to the hard drive. After that, it's merely a matter of following the on-screen prompts.

If you want to get into the nitty gritty of PC-BIOS hardware and how it relates to Windows, fellow Hexite Paul Adams put together this informal post: http://forums.hexus.net/operating-sy...h-windows.html
    Quote Originally Posted by Agent View Post