Thread: What would you do?

Thanks

What would you do?

Hey,

I'm not a novice PC builder, but I've also not built a PC for a good 5 years, so was wondering if I can get some advice from you lovely people.

I've got a 4 year old machine which I've just installed Win7 64 on to and realised how old the machine is. So...I've decided that it's prob time to upgrade a few bits. I've got to take in to consideration that my case mounts the MoBo upside down (initially got a card with a big built in heatsink and pipe from various chips on the MoBo and it soon fried!) and that I run 2 x 24" monitors.

I don't really mind too much about money; I mainly use it for work but I play a few games too. I'm not too bothered about overclocking, but like bells and whistles to play about with.

What would you upgrade with this machine? I'm thinking MB, Graphics, CPU and add some more ram.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Martyn

Current PC Spec:
    MB: DFi Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
    CPU AMD 64 X2 4400+
    RAM: 2GB old school Ram
    Graphics: 2x7800 GTx
    Case: Lian Li PC-V1100
    Audio: Audigy 4
    HDDs: 74Gb 10K prm Raptor Boot drive
    3*250Gb HDD
    PSU: 1Kw Tagan modular PSU

Thanks
    • Phage's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Crosshair VIII
      • CPU:
      • 3800x
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb @ 3600Mhz
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 960 512Gb + 2Tb Samsung 860
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 1080ti
      • PSU:
      • BeQuiet 850w
      • Case:
      • Fractal Define 7
      • Operating System:
      • W10 64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Iiyama GB3461WQSU-B1

Re: What would you do?

CPU: i7 860
    RAM: 4gb GSkill Ripjaw
    Mainboard: MSI or Giga P55
    GPU: 5870 1gb

The rest (Case,PSU, HDD) I would keep. But storage is so cheap now it's hard to overlook a variety of 1tb drives from Samsung F3, Hitachi or WD Caviar Black. Better, faster and cheaper than your old 250Gb ones.
    Society's to blame,
    Or possibly Atari.

Thanks
    • CAT-THE-FIFTH's system