Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: noob Q: OC P4C - how hard is it really?

Thanks

Lightbulb noob Q: OC P4C - how hard is it really?

I've decided I've just got to get me a 1000Mhz FSB rig like on THG
    http://www.tomshardware.com/motherbo...812/index.html

BUT I'm an OC noob - only ever tried on OCing an 1800+ Palomino in a Soltek SL-75DRV...
    which proved to be an unbelievably FRUSTRATING experience...

So, how hard is it to get say a P4C 2.8 stable cranked up that high?

I've read reviews that imply it's a doddle, just cranking up the FSB with no or minor vcore changes on 1:1 bus:memory... Are there other things you need to play with??

I'm thinking of clobbering my credit card for:
    • P4C 2.8,
      Asus P4P800,
      OCZ gold PC4000 512mb kit,
      Zalman CNPS7000-Cu fan,
      and a Vantec iON 400 PSU
    I've already got a decent Coolermaster case for that lot - which the bloody 1800- is sitting in.

Am I just setting myself up for another round of frustration???

slave of the hypnotoad
    Thanks
    if you were to do that, it would be running at 3.5Ghz, it is possible you could manage this with a Zalman CNPS7000-Cu, but i suggest you set your sights a little lower as something you should expect to get as a minimum, i'd suggest running at 3.2-3.4 should be easily attainable, which will still be very fast, and then push further for 3.5Ghz! as you said just crank up the fsb and vcore, very easy, and there are lots of people on these forums who will help you out with any questions.

slave of the hypnotoad
    Thanks
    http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/...=1#Post2596486

and that's with the Al/Cu version of the Zalman

Thanks
    Cheers fondie, just the sort of answers I was hoping for!
    I was thinking of doing it with a 2.6 like they do on THG, but hey, why limit yourself? And WOW 3.6 is just awesome!