Thread: mITX newbie seeks case & PSU efficiency advice

Thanks

mITX newbie seeks case & PSU efficiency advice

I'm new to mini-ITX, but will be building a system with Gigabyte's new H55 mini-ITX board when it becomes available. My other requirements are a slimline optical drive and space for two 2.5" drives (the second to leave room for my dreams of one day buying a solid-state hard drive for the system partition).

However, I'm completely at a loss to know what case to use. I'd like it to be as small as possible given those specs, but even more important is that it should have a highly efficient power supply. I need no more than 125W, and it should have an 80plus rating as an absolute minimum - I believe there's an 80plus Gold rating, but nothing seems to have it. My aim is the lowest possible idle power - inspired in this by a good article on Tom's Hardware about building an i5-based system with 25W idle power.

I saw the thread from earlier this month "Mini ITX Computer Spec Help", and was interested in the Antec ISK300-150 mentioned there - it looks to be about the right size for me, but 300W is more than I need and crucially hardwaresecrets says that its power efficiency is lousy, always below 80%.

I'd be grateful for any ideas, because the case specs I've looked at have scant information on power efficiency.

Thanks

Re: mITX newbie seeks case & PSU efficiency advice

You could still get the Antec case, and pair it up with a 120/150W PicoPSU (which is 80+) and matching AC adapter.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by simonw View Post
    You could still get the Antec case, and pair it up with a 120/150W PicoPSU (which is 80+) and matching AC adapter.
    Great, thanks - the things I don't know...