Thread: New home setup (need help/advice)

Thanks
    • Sacred's system
      • Motherboard:
      • P5Q-Pro
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
      • Memory:
      • 4 GB
      • Storage:
      • 500 GB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 460
      • Operating System:
      • Windows Vista 64

Question New home setup (need help/advice)

Hi guys,

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right place?? I'm changing my set-up at home, which is going to result in my systems tower being located in a wardrobe approx 2.5-3m away from my monitor and keyboard. I mainly use the system for gaming but am confidant that the new location for the tower should be ventilated enough to keep everything cool. (Although this will have to be monitored)

Sorry about the poor quality of my drawing but I'm no expert! Hopefully it should provide enough information that you guys will be able to help me.

Red = sockets
    Green = computer tower
    Yellow = peripheral / monitor

(Depth of the desk is unknown as it doesn’t exist yet, however it will be made from a standard piece of kitchen work surface)

What wires am I going to need so that my wired keyboard/mouse can still be "plugged" into the main tower and operate as normal (I would use wireless however several years ago when I had that set-up I found it in-effective for gaming as it caused pauses in actions while it emptied its cache).

With the monitor being so far away from the tower is their either a way I can connect it wirelessly to my tower or if not what wire would be suitable for this (it uses the cable with the white end? (DVI??)) And not lose quality due to the length of the cable.

My sound for the PC is connected to a Yamaha AV receiver which is located under my T.V would a 3.5mm to 3.5mm jack be a good enough sound output or are their better options to get the most out of my soundcard (onboard with AFAIK 6 outputs on the rear of my tower).