Thread: Money to spend and totally undecided on what to do with it?

Thanks

Money to spend and totally undecided on what to do with it?

Hi,

Ok I'm looking to buy myself a new computer, well upgrade a few major components anyway. I have the following which I am going to keep:

ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB
    17 CRT Monitor
    Seagate Baracuda 80GB

I'm a web designer and I use a lot of processor intense programmes so I need a rig that is going to be able to handle all of that (infact my current one does ok, but I want to get into video editing more), but I also play a lot of games and I want to improve my system for this.

I have about £300 to spend and need the following:

DVD Writer
    Memory
    Processor
    Case
    Heatsink

Now I was looking at the Shuttle SN45G which looked great, but I am worried by the small power supply and the fact that I don't have many option is I want to upgrade(i.e a more powerful graphics card).

My current motherboard is going in the bin, but I do have access to a brand new Asus A7V8X-X so I could use this.

Any ideas on what equipment would best suit my needs and price range? There is so much to choose from and reviews vary too much to make decisions easily.

Cheers,
    Chris

Back in Sunny UK...and it is sunny too :D...pleasant surprise.
    Thanks
    With all the noise about socket 775 would it not be an idea to wait for a bit before diving in? If you don't go for the new chip/board set up at least the prices of the current crop of top of the range gear will drop.