• PSU:
      • 750W Modular Corsair
      • Case:
      • LianLi PC-P50B
      • Operating System:
      • Linux (Arch)

Critique my build - £2000 budget

Hi all,

I'm looking for people to suggest improvements to my new rig. I'd hugely appreciate any help, desktops aren't my strong point.

• Budget: £2000 - Not going to complain if you can get it cheaper though!
    • Purpose: Development - I'm a sysadmin so develop on a huge cluster of VMs that I'd like to run on my desktop.
    • Gaming: Not currently but I'd like to leave flexibility to allow some mild gaming in future - hence the semi-decent graphics card.
    • Do you really need that much memory?!? Yes
    • Do you really need that CPU?!? Unsure. But I'd like to make my PC as future proof as possible.
    • AMD? Unsure. I really like the idea of 8 Intel threads.
    • Size? Not an issue.
    • Good looking? Certainly not willing to pay extra for a physically good looking PC - it'll sit under my desk, no one will see it. I'm after a purely practical PC.
    • Silent? Would be nice, this PC lives in my bedroom and I might occasionally leave it on while I sleep. Not willing to pay a huge amount for this benefit though.
    • OS? Linux. I might dual boot Windows 7 though would only boot into it once in a blue moon.

The build so far:
    Code:
    https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=tt-0eBRNZFUUeNok97A1tDg&hl=en&authkey=CNi4xs0C
    Sorry for the un-clickable link, I have less than 5 posts so can't make it a URL.

Please suggest improvements, price cuts (without massively affecting the performance) and anything else you can think of.

Things I'm unsure on:
    • The Case - bottom mounted PSU is something that concerns me. It'll be sitting on a wooden floor that gets very dusty. Seems to be hard to find top mounted cases now adays though.
    • Hitachi (significantly cheaper) or WD drives (double cache)

Justification:
    4GB modules not 2 so I can expand to 24GB easier in future.