Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    17 times in 15 posts
    • Ultima2876's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II 955BE @ 3.6ghz
      • Memory:
      • 8 GB DDR3 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Spinpoint F3, 500gb Spinpoint T166
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II (1GB @ 875mhz clock/1225mhz memory)
      • PSU:
      • Xclio 650w
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 (64 bit)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW 24"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mb

    SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    So I've just purchased a SpinPoint F3 for some extra storage, but suddenly realised my system drive (and games drive, two partitions) is a SpinPoint T166... which is a fair amount slower according to benchmarks (SpinPoint F3 = HD103SJ = 876 points, SpinPoint T166 = HD501LJ = 476 points).

    So this is the layout I would have if I just slap the drive in and use it for extra storage:

    T166 - Partition 1: System (80 GB)
    T166 - Partition 2: Games/Programs (385 GB)

    F3 - Partition 1: Audio (400 GB)
    F3 - Partition 2: Storage (535 GB)

    Question is, do you guys think the performance advantage would be noticeable if I were to spend a day reformatting and setting everything up again as follows:

    F3 - Partition 1: System (120 GB)
    F3 - Partition 2: Games/Programs (385 GB)
    F3 - Partition 3: Audio (430 GB)

    T166 - Partition 1: Storage (465 GB)

    What do you guys think? Reckon I'll get any noticeable performance improvement by shifting my System/Games onto the F3 rather than having them on the slower T166, or is it not worth the time?

    Thanks
    Last edited by Ultima2876; 02-03-2011 at 12:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Pob255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    The land of Brum
    Posts
    9,945
    Thanks
    572
    Thanked
    1,196 times in 1,099 posts
    • Pob255's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus M5A99X EVO
      • CPU:
      • PhenomII x4 955 & CM Hyper 212+
      • Memory:
      • 2x 4gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz cas9
      • Storage:
      • 250gb SATA Westerndigital + 500gb samsung +1tb Samsung
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus GTX560ti CuII
      • PSU:
      • Be Quiet E9 680w
      • Case:
      • HAF 912+
      • Operating System:
      • W7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 21" ips something

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    Yes there will be some, however doing a full reinstall can be a heck of a lot of work and time.

    You could look into ghosting the old drive onto the new one that's probably going to be the easiest way to move it over.

  3. Received thanks from:

    Ultima2876 (02-03-2011)

  4. #3
    bored of Vienetta now
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,166
    Thanks
    1,204
    Thanked
    785 times in 594 posts
    • ik9000's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P7H55-M/USB3
      • CPU:
      • i7-870, Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Akasa Apache 120mm
      • Memory:
      • 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 11-11-11-27
      • Storage:
      • 2x256GB Samsung 840-Pro, 1TB Seagate 7200.12, 1TB Seagate ES.2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB SuperOverClocked
      • PSU:
      • NZXT Hale 90 750w
      • Case:
      • BitFenix Survivor + Bitfenix spectre LED fans, LG BluRay R/W optical drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2414h, U2311h 1920x1080
      • Internet:
      • 200Mb/s Fibre and 4G wifi

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pob255 View Post
    Yes there will be some, however doing a full reinstall can be a heck of a lot of work and time.

    You could look into ghosting the old drive onto the new one that's probably going to be the easiest way to move it over.
    +1 to everything Pob just wrote.

    If you own, or are willing to buy, a large enough external HDD you could use this opportunity to create a full back-up of the drive and use this to reinstall once the drives are reformatted and partitioned. Doesn't shorten the process, but you get two chores done in one! Given the performance of the F3 is amongst the highest out there for the current generation of 1TB drives, I'd definitely want my system drive on this disk.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    17 times in 15 posts
    • Ultima2876's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II 955BE @ 3.6ghz
      • Memory:
      • 8 GB DDR3 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Spinpoint F3, 500gb Spinpoint T166
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II (1GB @ 875mhz clock/1225mhz memory)
      • PSU:
      • Xclio 650w
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 (64 bit)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW 24"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mb

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    It's not too big of a deal, I already have a backup of all my data on a network drive. It's really just reinstalling windows + all my apps, which as I said is basically a day...

    I have no experience of ghosting drives or anything. All I've ever done in the past is done a clean reinstall of windows and redone all my apps/games... it usually takes about 4-5 hours total.

    Thinking about it it's probably worth it - for the sake of 4-5 hours I'll have a snappier system which I suppose is ultimately worth it.

  6. #5
    bored of Vienetta now
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,166
    Thanks
    1,204
    Thanked
    785 times in 594 posts
    • ik9000's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P7H55-M/USB3
      • CPU:
      • i7-870, Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Akasa Apache 120mm
      • Memory:
      • 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 11-11-11-27
      • Storage:
      • 2x256GB Samsung 840-Pro, 1TB Seagate 7200.12, 1TB Seagate ES.2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB SuperOverClocked
      • PSU:
      • NZXT Hale 90 750w
      • Case:
      • BitFenix Survivor + Bitfenix spectre LED fans, LG BluRay R/W optical drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2414h, U2311h 1920x1080
      • Internet:
      • 200Mb/s Fibre and 4G wifi

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    Got to admit, that despite making back-ups I usually do a clean install. Serves as a good chance to get rid of old clutter, make sure I'm running the latest drivers and versions of software/patches etc, and gives a bit more piece of mind that anything buggy doesn't get transferred onto the new drive. Like you say, it's just time.

    Let me know how you find the F3 - thinking of getting a pair for RAID with my next machine.

  7. Received thanks from:

    Ultima2876 (02-03-2011)

  8. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    17 times in 15 posts
    • Ultima2876's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II 955BE @ 3.6ghz
      • Memory:
      • 8 GB DDR3 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Spinpoint F3, 500gb Spinpoint T166
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II (1GB @ 875mhz clock/1225mhz memory)
      • PSU:
      • Xclio 650w
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 (64 bit)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW 24"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mb

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    I'm tempted to do the same, heard they're little beasts once you slap them in a RAID0... hell, they're supposed to be little beasts even without

  9. #7
    Senior Member Max Tractor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,248
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked
    41 times in 38 posts
    • Max Tractor's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Biostar TA890GXE
      • CPU:
      • 95w 1055T@x4-3.5Ghz-1.15v
      • Memory:
      • Samsung Green 30nm low voltage 2x4GB@1.26v
      • Storage:
      • Corsair 3 60GB-Sandisk Extreme 240GB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 7850 2GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic SS-1050XM
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster elite 120(Modd)
      • Monitor(s):
      • BenQ EW2430

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    I would definitely use the f3 in some form of boot/os type situation

  10. Received thanks from:

    Ultima2876 (02-03-2011)

  11. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    17 times in 15 posts
    • Ultima2876's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II 955BE @ 3.6ghz
      • Memory:
      • 8 GB DDR3 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Spinpoint F3, 500gb Spinpoint T166
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II (1GB @ 875mhz clock/1225mhz memory)
      • PSU:
      • Xclio 650w
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 (64 bit)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW 24"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mb

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    Well, I did it!

    It's nice to be on a clean PC again, with the drive layout exactly how I want it. To be honest, I can't really notice any difference in performance - pretty sure it's exactly the same as it was before... but oh well! I have my peace of mind that I'm utilising my HDDs in the best way possible. Thanks all.

  12. #9
    bored of Vienetta now
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,166
    Thanks
    1,204
    Thanked
    785 times in 594 posts
    • ik9000's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P7H55-M/USB3
      • CPU:
      • i7-870, Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Akasa Apache 120mm
      • Memory:
      • 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 11-11-11-27
      • Storage:
      • 2x256GB Samsung 840-Pro, 1TB Seagate 7200.12, 1TB Seagate ES.2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB SuperOverClocked
      • PSU:
      • NZXT Hale 90 750w
      • Case:
      • BitFenix Survivor + Bitfenix spectre LED fans, LG BluRay R/W optical drive
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2414h, U2311h 1920x1080
      • Internet:
      • 200Mb/s Fibre and 4G wifi

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    Good work - glad it didn't take too long.

    try giving it a list of files to copy, move, backup and etc. I think it's the cumulative effect where the difference really starts to become noticeable.

  13. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    17 times in 15 posts
    • Ultima2876's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II 955BE @ 3.6ghz
      • Memory:
      • 8 GB DDR3 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • 1tb Spinpoint F3, 500gb Spinpoint T166
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II (1GB @ 875mhz clock/1225mhz memory)
      • PSU:
      • Xclio 650w
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 (64 bit)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW 24"
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mb

    Re: SpinPoint T166 and SpinPoint F3 - Worth reformatting?

    I did some more comprehensive testing, here are the results:

    F3 (System) Write: 100.9mb/s Read: 127.0mb/s [Partition 1]
    F3 (Games/Programs) Write: 112.4mb/s Read: 107.6mb/s [Partition 3]
    F3 (Audio) Write: 124.0mb/s Read: 126.3mb/s [Partition 2]

    T166 (Storage) Write: 73.8mb/s Read: 73.1mb/s [Partition 1]

    The T166 Read is 67% as fast as the slowest F3 read speed, and 57% as fast as the fastest F3 read speed. The T166 write is 73% as fast as the slowest F3 write speed, and 59% as fast as the fastest F3 write speed.

    I'm satisfied

  14. Received thanks from:

    ik9000 (03-03-2011)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 400GB Samsung HD403LJ Spinpoint T166
    By Pob255 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13-08-2009, 01:58 PM
  2. Scan going to continue with Spinpoint T166 HD's?
    By Dr Cool in forum SCAN.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 08:43 AM
  3. 500GB Samsung Spinpoint T166, SATA II £45.83
    By Mithrandir in forum Retail Therapy and Bargains
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-04-2008, 10:45 PM
  4. Faulty Samsung Spinpoint T166 500gb?
    By Gunblade in forum SCAN.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 01:08 AM
  5. 320 Gb Samsung HD321KJ Spinpoint T166 - ETA?
    By godsdog in forum SCAN.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 10:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •