Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked
    14 times in 12 posts
    • Nobull's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H67MA-E45
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Corsair Value Select 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • Corsair F60 SSD + 2.5TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • HD6950 2GB
      • PSU:
      • CM Silent Pro Gold 600W
      • Case:
      • CM Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster P2450

    Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Hi all. I posted on here a while ago about my SSD taking long to load certain things and making a clicking noise when it tried. Well I haven't solved the problem as yet so I thought I'd runa benchmark or 2 to get an idea of how it was performing.

    It really has performed quite dismally compared to the Hexus reviews that include its brother, the F80. Now I know its not a fair direct comparison but it seems a bit enough difference that something's up.

    On the Hexus review the F80 AS SSD score was: 146 Read and 186 Write.

    Here's the result from my F60:

    [IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]


    What do you reckon, is that a big enough difference to be concerned?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Senior Member Blackmage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,934
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked
    65 times in 45 posts
    • Blackmage's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI P67-GD65
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core I7 2600k
      • Memory:
      • 8 Gb Hynix DDR3 1333
      • Storage:
      • Crucial m4 120Gb, 2TB Samsung F4
      • Graphics card(s):
      • ATI HD5830
      • PSU:
      • 700w Coolermaster Gold Plus
      • Case:
      • Xclio/Aplus Windtunnel
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Professional
      • Monitor(s):
      • Viewsonic VX2239WM 22" LCD Monitor
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Broadband 10mbit

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    It's running In IDE mode you need it to be running in ACHI mode
    Last edited by Blackmage; 13-06-2011 at 12:31 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked
    14 times in 12 posts
    • Nobull's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H67MA-E45
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Corsair Value Select 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • Corsair F60 SSD + 2.5TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • HD6950 2GB
      • PSU:
      • CM Silent Pro Gold 600W
      • Case:
      • CM Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster P2450

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackmage View Post
    It's running In IDE Mode you need it to be running in ACHI mode
    Thanks I was told that before but couldn't work out how to enable it. Just worked it out and re-did the benchmark with some alarming results. It got faster in some areas but actually slower in others!



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

  4. #4
    Senior Member watercooled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10,923
    Thanks
    1,507
    Thanked
    942 times in 809 posts

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Install the Intel AHCI drivers.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked
    14 times in 12 posts
    • Nobull's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H67MA-E45
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Corsair Value Select 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • Corsair F60 SSD + 2.5TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • HD6950 2GB
      • PSU:
      • CM Silent Pro Gold 600W
      • Case:
      • CM Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster P2450

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Quote Originally Posted by watercooled View Post
    Install the Intel AHCI drivers.
    Thanks I've just done that. It improved my overall score to 313. However, the write score of "101" is still lower than it was using the IDE drivers. I'm pretty confused!

  6. #6
    Senior Member watercooled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10,923
    Thanks
    1,507
    Thanked
    942 times in 809 posts

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    (Snip) Oh and about the stuttering you're noticing - see how it goes in AHCI mode but this is a known problem with some controllers. I'm not sure if your SSD uses one of them.
    Last edited by watercooled; 13-06-2011 at 03:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Pob255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    The land of Brum
    Posts
    9,964
    Thanks
    580
    Thanked
    1,199 times in 1,102 posts
    • Pob255's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus M5A99X EVO
      • CPU:
      • PhenomII x4 955 & CM Hyper 212+
      • Memory:
      • 2x 4gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz cas9
      • Storage:
      • 250gb SATA Westerndigital + 500gb samsung +1tb Samsung
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus GTX560ti CuII
      • PSU:
      • Be Quiet E9 680w
      • Case:
      • HAF 912+
      • Operating System:
      • W7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 21" ips something

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Quote Originally Posted by watercooled View Post
    There is slightly more overhead with AHCI than IDE mode so the max theoretical transfer speed is lower, but the pluses outweigh that minor negative - it's not something you'll notice in anything but benchmarks. Oh and about the stuttering you're noticing - see how it goes in AHCI mode but this is a known problem with some controllers. I'm not sure if your SSD uses one of them.
    Umm not unless you're using original sata1.5Gb/s
    The overhead was reduced and bandwidth increased on sata 3Gb/s and the new sata 6Gb/s so both are capable of higher speeds than IDE

    Although 149MB/s shouldn't be possible on IDE, which has a theoretical max of 1.33Gb/s
    Unless that software is doing the old naughty of 1000 bit's to the byte

  8. Received thanks from:

    watercooled (13-06-2011)

  9. #8
    Senior Member watercooled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10,923
    Thanks
    1,507
    Thanked
    942 times in 809 posts

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Yeah something didn't sound right about that when I was saying it. But I have definitely read other members on this forum giving the same explanation for lower throughput in AHCI. Will edit now to prevent it circulating as fact.

    The bit about stuttering still applies though - any idea if it affects this controller?

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked
    14 times in 12 posts
    • Nobull's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H67MA-E45
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Corsair Value Select 1333mhz
      • Storage:
      • Corsair F60 SSD + 2.5TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • HD6950 2GB
      • PSU:
      • CM Silent Pro Gold 600W
      • Case:
      • CM Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster P2450

    Re: Is something wrong with my Corsair F60?

    Quote Originally Posted by watercooled View Post
    Yeah something didn't sound right about that when I was saying it. But I have definitely read other members on this forum giving the same explanation for lower throughput in AHCI. Will edit now to prevent it circulating as fact.

    The bit about stuttering still applies though - any idea if it affects this controller?
    If it DOES affect this controller what can I do? Can I return it? Only got it in December.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Corsair Begins UK/EU RMA Processing
    By Yellowbeard in forum Solid State Drives (SSD)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-06-2008, 06:30 PM
  2. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 21-03-2007, 07:34 PM
  3. Which Corsair Ram
    By Apex in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-06-2004, 12:55 AM
  4. Choice of four Corsair Memoey modules
    By Lord Kordir in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 25-05-2004, 01:49 PM
  5. Best Corsair RAM for Asus P4C800-E ?
    By solrak in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 19-08-2003, 12:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •