Thread: how to overclock (its my first attempt)?

w33d smoka
    Thanks

how to overclock (its my first attempt)?

hi there

i just put together my backup comp sk41g,now i know they wont break any overclocking barriers but ive read that they do go a little way to providing a few more mhz,

this is the first time ive ever tried this so i have no clue realy on what to do or absolutely anythin about voltages,,whats more is that the xp1800 i have in there i dont think it is of any special calibre to give me very much in the way of overclocking,also im curious as to why its operating at 1.76v while my xp2400 operates at 1.60v,would i be wrong in assuming that 1.76v seems slighly high compared to my 1.60v xp2400,or are there xp1800,s that have to operate at this voltage?

they both run idle at around the same temperature of 44-46c and i read somewhere that the higher the voltage = more heat hence higher temps,is it possible to reduce the voltage on the 1800 to see how much it would actually knock off temps or is this its optimum operating voltage?

sorry i have no stepping code or anything for the processor so im realy not to confident ile be able to do much with it,but any info would help greatly on overclocking and voltage of 1800,s,the system is pretty much standard at the min :

athlon xp1800 (1.53ghz)
    512mb pc2100 ddr
    60gb hardrive
    nec dvd/r
    using onboard graffics at the min

will i need to update my bios to overclock or will it be fine as it is?

Thanks
    I don't claim to be an expert so I may be incorrect on a few of the finer details. Just my disclaimer

Overclocking -

To start with you have to realise that the overall speed of ur processor, the ghz / mhz it is operating at, is the product of the Front Side Bus and the Multiplyer. The FSB is the speed at which the RAM operates at and at stock your FSB will be 266 mhz.

Gets even more weird when I tell you that the FSB is actually 133 mhz x 2. So your system is running at 133mhz x 11.5