• PSU:
      • 500W Seasonic S12
      • Case:
      • Akasa Mirage
      • Monitor(s):
      • 18" Dell

Graphic Design Computer

Hi,

I work as a graphic designer for a small company, and am working with 100-300mb files which are stored on an internal hard drive (not sure which it is). The other specs are:
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8600 @ 2.66ghz
    4gb DDR2 (on Windows 7 32bit so I think only 3gb are recognised?)

When I have multiple files open in Photoshop and also have Illustrator open, I'm noticing everything lags a lot. I was going to just upgrade Windows and get some more RAM, but my MD said whilst I'm doing it I may as well get a whole new system that's more up to date.

I have no idea where to start with all this, I've built PCs in the past so I'm confident in doing it, however I just don't know what I'll need for graphics work and what's compatible? I'm not sure on budget, I reckon I can push him to £800, which isn't loads as far as I'm aware, but I can get something decent on that right? So my thoughts so far:

CPU: C-T-F mentions the Core i5 2500K on his Build Guide for October - will that be sufficient?
    Mobo: Not a clue, any recommendations?
    RAM: I'm not sure if I'm just way out of touch, but it looks to me like on Scan you can get 16gb for about 70 quid?! A few years ago I paid over £200 for 2gb, have prices really dropped THAT much??
    HD: Some type of SSD? Currently I have one hdd for all my programmes and another for any current things I'm working on. The C drive has 80gb and current work, well that depends, but probably at most 20gb at a time (as things are moved onto the server when they are completed). Would this mean an SSD of 128gb would be too small, as it would almost be full meaning it runs slower? Or does that not apply to SSDs?

Anyway that's all for now, thanks for any help!

Cheers.

don't stock motherhoods
    Thanks
    • Millennium's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X470 Gaming Plus
      • CPU: