Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Silent Watercooling request for help

Registered+
    Thanks

Silent Watercooling request for help

Hey guys and girls!

I'm in need of a little help here regarding watercooling my PC. I'm a complete noob to liquid cooling, so go easy on me; though I've been building all my machines from scratch for the last 15 years - I'm pretty handy with a screwdriver and I'm pretty technical.
    My goal: complete silence (or the closest I can get). I'm utterly sick of the sound of fans now, and just want my computer to shut up. Oh, and please please please: no-one tell me to turn up the volume on my games - that won't make things quieter, it'll just make them noisier.

My current setup:
    Antec P182 case
    All panels inside (top/bottom/side/front/back) covered with acoustic mat
    All case fans removed and replaced with ultra quiet 120mm or 140mm ones with voltage reduced to reduce noise even further
    Antec CP850 PSU with the stock fan (which is remarkably quiet as it is)
    Asus Rampage Formula (x48)
    Q9650 @3.6GHz
    8GB DDR2 RAM @1066
    Thermalright Silver Arrow (not the SB-E version). Has 2xTY-140s running PWM off the motherboard at the lowest speed.
    2x GTX 580 in SLI (stock speeds)
    2x SSD
    2x 2TB HDD
    2x Grow Up Japan HDD Silencer
    TIM on the GPUs, NB, SB, CPU has been replaced with Phobya HeGrease
    Even though the machine is running overclocked, I have actually undervolted the CPU, NB, SB and RAM to generate less heat - 100% stable for the last year or two.

OK, so my use-case is like this:
    I make music in a home studio and basically need almost 100% silence from my computer as I record vocals in the same room. Because a lot of my synths are now soft synths, so it can be pretty CPU intensive, hence why I run the quad core with a mild overclock all of the time. As I'm also a bit of a gamer, I've also got 2 GTX580's in SLI; and games of course benefit from the CPU overclock too.