Thread: New PC

Thanks

New PC

Hi,

I am building a new PC and needed some advice. Here is my current setup that I am considering:

Abit NF7-S Version 2 Motherboard

Maxtor 6Y120M0 120gb Serial ATA 8mb Cache 7200rpm - OEM

Panasonic Floppy Disk Drive Black 1.44MB 3.5 inch internal - OEM

Corsair (VS512MBKIT400) 512MB (2 x 256MB Matched Pair), DDR400 / PC3200, non-ECC, Unbuffered, CL2.5, Lifetime Warranty

Nec Double Layer 8x DVD Dual R/rw - Oem Black

Radeon 9800 Pro Graphics Card

Case: A nice and quiet Antec Sonata which comes with a silent and good quality PSU.

How does that setup seem? I have left one thing out: Processor. I was going to go for the AMD XP2600+ retail pack, but a few people have said it is better to go for the XP-M 2500 as it can be made faster than an XP3200+. Now what would you say? Bear in mind this is my first attempt at building a PC and I have never overclocked. I also found this processor that is also meant to be overclockable and costs less than the XP-M equivalent:

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=47843

Opnions?

Thanks,

Waz

wibble
    Thanks
    xp-m's are definitely the way to go for AMD as they are multiplier unlocked, the standard desktop chips are locked and afaik it is not possible to unlock them. Apart from that the cooler in the retail pack kinda sucks, so get a half decent cooler with 80mm+ fan, the rest of the stuff seems ok to me .... never had a sonata so can't comment on that

Thanks
    Thanks for the reply. What would you recommend in the way of a cooler bearing in the mind the reason I have the Antec Sonata case if for noise reduction? I quite like the Thermalright SLK-900A, but I am not sure which fan is good to get with it to keep a balance of low noise and good cooling for overclocking the XP-M.

Waz

Thanks