Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Home Media Network, Full Install in New build home

Registered+
    Thanks

New Home Media Network, Full Install in New build home

Hi Guys, Im about to start on a wiring a friends home and hopefully future proof to some extent, I'm a complete novice so any help is appreciated, ill document the entire build with pics etc on here. I've asked Paul (the friend) to take the drawing of the planned layout and mark on using a simple key where he wants:-

1) HD Sky TV
    2) Ethernet ports (I guess there will be several of these as most things now come with the requirement, DVD and Blu-ray players, Sky Boxes etc)
    3) Telephone

Ive got a lot of great info from dave87 media thread but there are still a few grey areas in my mind...

Do I install the master sky unit in the Node 1 area under the stairs, this is a ventilated cupboard that will hold the router and switch gear etc (is that the right term)

I understand I have to use 2x Cat5e cables and Baluns boxes to get the HDMI signal down but...

Here is where i show my ignorance, for the internet i guess we use a standard fast incoming provider but what does the patch panel do for me, is it to permit me to supply ethernet to all the devices?

Why do i need Coax, what will come down this?.

Im re-reading dave87's thread so will be back with more questions shortly.

Thanks

Thanks
    • Preacher's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock z77 Pro4m
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • Memory:
      • 8GB GSkill 1600Mhz
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 500GB 840, 6TB of Seagate in JBOD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI 7950 Twin Frozr
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic X660
      • Case:
      • Antec P180
      • Operating System:
      • Win 8 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Two old ones from work
      • Internet:
      • Virgin 60mb