Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: New Server Build Help Please

Registered+
    Thanks

New Server Build Help Please

Hi,

Wish to build myself a new server for experience with MS Server 2012, RAID and Citrix ect. Could also use it for storage. (Something future-proof)

I am a complete newbie to Desktop/Server building so any and all help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

UltraLinx
    Last edited by UltraLinx; 19-09-2013 at 10:05 PM.

Thanks
    • DanceswithUnix's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus X470-PRO
      • CPU:
      • 5900X
      • Memory:
      • 32GB 3200MHz ECC
      • Storage:
      • 2TB Linux, 2TB Games (Win 10)
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus Strix RX Vega 56
      • PSU:
      • 650W Corsair TX
      • Case:
      • Antec 300
      • Operating System:
      • Fedora 39 + Win 10 Pro 64 (yuk)
      • Monitor(s):
      • Benq XL2730Z 1440p + Iiyama 27" 1440p
      • Internet:
      • Zen 900Mb/900Mb (CityFibre FttP)

Re: New Server Build Help Please

My home server uses a quad core AMD APU, it is frankly utter overkill for most home server uses.

I only replaced my old dual core server because it was getting old, not because it was too slow.

Registered+
    Thanks

What were you using the server for though?
    A couple of people have said that Dual Core wouldn't be enough for VM's to run smoothly - they have advised something more than Dual Core
    Last edited by UltraLinx; 19-09-2013 at 10:06 PM.

Bagnaj97

My home server is running an A4-4000. It's hosting a minecraft server, webserver and fileserver. The A4 hasn't struggled with anything so far. If you are concerned about performance you could consider the new A10-6700T whenever it appears. Quad core 45w chip.

Thanks
    • DanceswithUnix's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus X470-PRO
      • CPU:
      • 5900X
      • Memory:
      • 32GB 3200MHz ECC
      • Storage:
      • 2TB Linux, 2TB Games (Win 10)
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus Strix RX Vega 56