Thread: Overclocking an i7 920 D0 CPU

Thanks

Question Overclocking an i7 920 D0 CPU

Greetings all,

I was considering a cheap processor upgrade but I am aware that my existing chip has a good core for overclocking. I am a complete overclocking virgin, despite having a lengthy tech background, so I thought I would seek your advice before going ahead. I guess what I am looking for is a complete beginners guide that explains everything in relative layman's terms. I will try to provide you with as much info on my setup below...

Antec 902 tower
    Thermaltake air Cooler with Arctic Silver
    Intel i7 720 Bloomfield 2800Mhz (AIDA64 confirms it as a D0 chip)
    Asus PT6 SE Mainboard
    6Gb Corsair 1333 Dominator Ram
    AMD Radeon 6950 2Gb Card

I have CPU-Z installed as well as AIDA64 Extreme if you need any more info.

Currently my cores are running at an average heat of 50c.

I am not looking to push things to the limit but if I can get any sort of performance increase then that would be great.

Any help would be most appreciated

Banhammer in peace PeterB kalniel's Avatar
    Thanks
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
      • CPU:
      • Intel i9 9900k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 970Evo+ NVMe
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell S2721DGF
      • Internet:
      • rubbish

Re: Overclocking an i7 920 D0 CPU

Thanks

Thanks kalniel.

Spreadie

It's very easy to push a D0 chip to around 4GHz, and most will fly past that. My old 920 was stable at 4.5GHz with 1.475 vcore and would bench at 4.7GHz.