Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Doing a whole new build. Can I get some help please?

ZaO

Doing a whole new build. Can I get some help please?

Hey guys. So finally, it looks like I will be doing a new build within the next few weeks I've been building for myself and others since 2007, btw, so I'm not new to this stuff But it's always nice to get some advice when doing a new build!

So, once I'm done selling some stuff I no longer need to raise funds, I'm expecting my budget to be about £1000 (Not including a screen. I have a monitor I can use for now, so I can buy a better screen at a later date if I have to). I will be using it for a lot of different tasks. But the focus when choosing hardware, is gaming. Here's what I have so far (If Amd or Intel decide to release some new Gpu's/Cpu's in this time, it could affect what I buy.):

MOBO:
    (Overclocking ability with good VRM's would be nice, though it doesn't have to be the best of the best. Not too bothered about Crossfire, though it doesn't hurt to have the functionality! This is the component I think I need the most help with!) Suggestions?

CPU: 4790K
    (I'm sitting pretty solid on this cpu choice, unless Amd or Intel release some new ones very soon! And yes, I want Hyperthreading!).

CPU COOLER:
    I wouldn't mind a water cooler for it (not a complete system water cooling setup, just the cpu), but doesn't have to be. Suggestions?

RAM: I already have some good DDR3 stuff. No need to buy any

GPU: Amd 290X (I'll either get this or the 290, unless Amd release the new ones very soon. Still, it'll probably be one of these, hopefully at a cheaper price than they are currently). Which are the best 290s/290Xs?

PSU: