Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CPU Coolers, and suitable RAM for A64 overclocking..

Thanks

CPU Coolers, and suitable RAM for A64 overclocking..

I've stuck a few posts into other threads over the last week or so asking various questions about overclocking the 3500+ Winchester A64, but didn't want to hijack them completely, so:

Would the Corsair 2x512MB 2-2-2-5 3200XLPT matched kit do me okay, or is there some blatantly better brand out there for a similar amount of cash?

What is generally accepted to be the best performance cooler for this CPU to allow a good deal of O/C ? I'd like to stick with Aircooling - I'm not experienced enough yet for anything extreme like Vapochill..

Many thanks in advance for you help,
    S.
    Last edited by BlueMagician; 12-01-2005 at 10:50 AM.

Thanks
    • Betty_Swallocks's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Z97-A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 4690K o/c to 4.6 gHz
      • Memory:
      • 8Gb DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 256Gb SSD + 1320Gb (3x SATA drives)
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI R9 390 8Gb
      • PSU:
      • Corsair CS750M
      • Case:
      • Thermaltake Shark
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10
      • Monitor(s):
      • 37" Samsung TV @1920x1080 + Dell 20.1" TFT secondary screen
      • Internet:
      • 150Mb Virgin Media cable
    The Thermalright XP120 is probably one of the best air cooling solutions and is very quiet too because of the 120mm fan. I have one on my P4 but I know they fit the Athlon64 as well.
    When I fitted my T-Balancer fan controller the CPU fan wasn't running at all and the CPU temperature only went up to 46 degrees. With the fan running at around 650rpm it is steady at 39 degrees when idling rising to around 50 degrees under the heaviest load with my P4 3.0c overclocked to 3.6Ghz.
    Whispertec have them for £49 including a suitable fan and a Zalman fan controller.
    Last edited by Betty_Swallocks; 12-01-2005 at 12:07 PM.