Thread: Quest For Silence: Nexus + Samsung

Thanks

Quest For Silence: Nexus + Samsung

Hi, just trying to put the final parts together for a silent computer

Ok, basically my system would be silent if it were not for 3 components.

1) My Nexus Real Silent 350 Watt I think is now the noisest part of the system, I can stop all the other fans (graphics, CPU etc) and not hear any difference in terms of noise.

Is there any way of using software to control the fan speed? I don't want to stick my fingers in it as I'm not good with this kinda of stuff. Would you suggest me getting rid of it and buying a new one?

2) My Samsung Hard Drives are very loud, my ATA one seems to be ALOT louder than my SATA 80GB one.

I have used the utility to quieten them down, I have heard that Drive Suspending is good, what equipment do I need and is it easy? I am a realy tard when it comes to computers and I have a high chance of breaking stuff.
    I have read SilentPCReview's Suspension methods but I really cannot understand it and which one i would need.

So A simple list of what I need and how to do it would be nice :-)

Anyway you may need to know the rest of the system:

1) AMD 3500+ With Freezer 64 undervolted to 5v
    2) 6800GT 256mb with Vf-700Cu Zalman @ 5v
    3) That Loud Spinning thing on the motherboard undervolted to the minium
    4) Nexus PSU 350 Watts, "Real Silent"
    5) 2 x Samsung HDs, 1 x 80GB (SATA) + 1 x 120GB (ATA)
    6) Antec SLK3000B with 120mm Fan Undervolted to 5v

I think that is about it, as you can see I've gone through a hell of alot of fanmates and other silencing stuff.

It's by no means an incredible system but it runs my games fine, all I now need is the final 2 parts in my quest for silence.

Any Suggestions would be a great help, Alex

Thanks
    I'm not sure there is a way to control fan speeds in your PSU by software