Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 17

Thread: Problems with Windows install, SATA after "F6"

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    Problems with Windows install, SATA after "F6"

    I'm having problems getting Winders to recognize my new SATA drive after loading drivers. During install I hit "F6" to load Via SATA drivers for VIAKT600 chipset. Now it finds the HDD. I've deleted and created (many times) partition yet when I attempt to install Windows tells me the disk does not contain a Windows XP-compatible partition. If Windows had not found partition to Create/Delete I would think I had wrong drivers but, it finds and identifies drive so now I'm at a loss.
    System is
    Asus A7V600-S
    Athlon XP-M 2400
    Corsair XMS 512
    WD SATA 200GB
    ATI 9800SE

    Any ideas O Gurus of Cyberspace?
    Stu

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    glasgow
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    did you format the drive after you created the partition ?

    if not select ntfs filesystem and install it on the primary partition then it should be fine

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    "did you format the drive after you created the partition ?"
    That's the problem. Windows finds the partition but won't give the option to Format in either NTFS or FAT and puts me into a loop, back to choosing Partition, Create/Delete Part.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    glasgow
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    hmm , do you use nlite or any os disc customisation tool , in other words is it a standard disc ?

    have you installed xp before ? (not being cheeky!)

    there is a few key presses you have to do maybe your missing one are you selecting the correct partion to install it on whne it asks you and not the one with a few megabyte lefts after creating the partition ?

    if you have access to another xp disc go ahead and format it with that then let it copy the files for installation then when it reboots to start installing swap the discs see if that works although i think the licensce key might be invalid im not sure !

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Update:
    Was able to boot to old dying IDE drive, format SATA drive with NTFS.
    Boot to CD, load VIA SATA drivers, get to partition screen where it finds "C: Partition1 (NTFS) 190722MB." I Choose drive and get:
    "To install Win XP on the partition you selected, Setup must write some startup files to the following Disk:
    Unknown Disk
    However, this disk does not contain a Windows XP-compatable partition.
    To continure installing WIN XP return to blah blah"
    Same problem.
    If an IDE I'd think possibly wrong jumpers but at a loss to what else could be.
    Any ideas folks?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Weebroonieuk,
    Thanks for the response. Yes, I have installed XP (many times tho only once on a SATA drive), not using any customizing tool and disk is standard WD SATA 8mb cache 7200rpm. I've gone to Asus and used their SATA drivers which Windows recognizes and even finds the disk but, for some reason won't let me continue past above screens. Are there any jumpers to configure?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    glasgow
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    no sata only allows you to connect 1 drive per channel unlike ide which has 2 channels (master/slave) so no need to worry about jumpers

    if you can create a bootable cd use the ide drive and boot that up as normal with the sata drive connected then search trhe web for the method to save the cab files onto the disc and execute the installtion files directly from the hard drive its supposedly faster once you have the files on the disk

    although im not sure that method will work with sata since you have to load drivers with the normal method of installing but a bit of searching could find out

    failing that , and im sticking my neck out here and waiting for all the do gooders to have convullsions .... go to a torrent site and download a copy of xp and burn it and see if you can get that version to work

    oh mayube try download seatools from the seagate website i used it on different drives works for me or maybe wd has its own version of a bootable iso cd to test the drive it might be knackered

    thats about all i can think of at the mo

  8. #8
    Senior Member kalniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    28,997
    Thanks
    1,473
    Thanked
    2,904 times in 2,353 posts
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A UD3R rev 2
      • CPU:
      • Intel Xeon X5680
      • Memory:
      • 12gb DDR3 2000
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2311H
      • Internet:
      • O2 8mbps
    I had a similar-ish problem that was caused by the partition I wanted to install to not being set to 'active'. I ended up having to use a boot floppy and setting the partition active manually.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Wellpers, was able to boot to old drive again, format and read SATA drive. My XP CD is XP Pro Corp edition and have used it to install on numerous systems. However still getting same problem. Will look around for an old copy of Partition Magic and see if "Active" as it's been a long time since I've used a boot floppy and don't remember fdisk commands.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    7 times in 7 posts
    Boot from the CD... in Windows Setup (blue screen) where it asks you which partition you want to install WinXP, delete all the partitions until it only says "unpartitioned space". Install Windows there, and it will automatically create a partition for you. You usually don't create a parition first unless you plan to split your drive for dual boot.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Latrosicarius,
    Yep, done that.... a few times. Deleted and redid partition numerous times. Booted from other disk, accessed disk then partitioned and formatted. Still get same results. Deleted part remade part... same results. I believe disk is good as I can read and write to it in another system. CD is good as has been used before. With older versions I would've copied CD to drive then installed onto itself. Dont' think I can with XP. I've run out of back doors to attempt. To create a new CD with SATA drivers I think would leave me at the same place as the drivers load. Trying without loading drivers with "F6" means XP doesn't find HDD. Tried Via's and Asus's drivers with same results.

  12. #12
    Senior Member kalniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    28,997
    Thanks
    1,473
    Thanked
    2,904 times in 2,353 posts
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A UD3R rev 2
      • CPU:
      • Intel Xeon X5680
      • Memory:
      • 12gb DDR3 2000
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2311H
      • Internet:
      • O2 8mbps
    Quote Originally Posted by latrosicarius
    Boot from the CD... in Windows Setup (blue screen) where it asks you which partition you want to install WinXP, delete all the partitions until it only says "unpartitioned space". Install Windows there, and it will automatically create a partition for you. You usually don't create a parition first unless you plan to split your drive for dual boot.
    This doesn't work.

    I tried this for my problem as well with no sucess. It appears the winXP patition software cannot correctly create an active partition. Using a boot floppy to create a partition and set to active did work.

  13. #13
    Vive le pants! directhex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    17,074
    Thanks
    228
    Thanked
    1,027 times in 678 posts
    • directhex's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI X99A Gaming 7
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 5280k
      • Memory:
      • 32GiB ADATA DDR4
      • Storage:
      • Corsair Neutron XT 960GB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G Twin Frozr 5
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX860i
      • Case:
      • NZXT H440
      • Operating System:
      • Ubuntu 17.10, Windows 10
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2713HM
      • Internet:
      • FIOS
    it's a long shot, but do you have two different drivers? it's common to have a "normal" driver and "RAID" driver, for most fakeraid controllers - you'd need the normal one.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    7 times in 7 posts
    Run Fdisk on your drive(s). See if that helps.
    http://home.pacbell.net/dbk4297/fdiskformat.html

  15. #15
    Nox
    Nox is offline
    Vorsprung durch Technik
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    • Nox's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Yes
      • CPU:
      • Yes
      • Memory:
      • Yes
      • Storage:
      • Yes
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Yes
      • PSU:
      • Yes
      • Case:
      • Yes
      • Monitor(s):
      • Yes
      • Internet:
      • Yes
    You have a USB attached memory device ? (any storage, ie pendrive/card/HD)

    If so remove it. I had very similar (if not the same) as you a few weeks ago, but can't remember what I did to sort it :/ would of been a bit wierd if windows had installed though, would of been loading off my monitor

    Do you need to install drivers at F6?

    Nox

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    glasgow
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    he will need to because of the age of his board it wont hqve native sata like nforce 2 etc

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-08-2005, 10:20 AM
  2. Cannot install on SATA drives.
    By jake.levine in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28-06-2005, 03:09 PM
  3. Help me set-up my Raid Sata! and windows install
    By jack in forum Help! Quick Relief From Tech Headaches
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-05-2005, 02:23 PM
  4. Windows Problems
    By Lexeus in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-08-2003, 04:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •