Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi! New here.. Need alot of help with Telewest connection..

Thanks

Hi! New here.. Need alot of help with Telewest connection..

Hi people!!

Just registered here as my mate says this is one of the best forum around to ask tech questions!

I recently applied for a Telewest cable broadband, 4Mb version.. (not installed yet, but will be soon on Tuesday next week)

But I have 2 PCs at home that needs the connection, but im a uber noob, and afaik the set top box will only have 1 ethernet socket..

So my problem is, what should I actually buy to get both my PCs connected to Blueyonder? Does Telewest provide this? Anyone mind lending me some advice?

I have looked through Scan (again, recommended by a friend).. and have absolutely no idea which to buy.. Do I buy a switch or do I buy a Broadband router? How do I set it up? How to I get it working?

I'm using the internet from work here. Thanks again for all the help!!!

Thanks
    telewest will give you a modem with one ethernet port on it (and a USB port but you don't really want to use that with two computers...). You do not need the software CD blueyonder will give you (possibly if you use the usb port you might, but I'd avoid that)

If one of your computers is always on and has 2 ethernet ports of it's own you could use that as a server/router although buying a dedicated router is probably the best (and easier) way to go about sharing the connection.

Basically what you need is some ethernet (cat5) cables, or some wireless 11b/g cards and a router+switch unit (NOT an ADSL modem+router combo unit though!). If you want wireless then get a router with wireless (11g 54mbps works nicely and is pretty cheap). Linksys and netgear both make pretty good consumer examples and most will let you set them up through a web browser - with most routers you can probably pretty much just plug it in and go though learning a little bit about setting them up won't hurt much