Thread: Gigabyte GA-965P DS3 CAS4 Problem Anyone?

Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Thanks

Gigabyte GA-965P DS3 CAS4 Problem Anyone?

Im looking to give the DS3 board a try, but ive seen a few reports of it not booting with CAS4 ram. Unfortunately, i have some OCZ 6400 XTC platinum, which is CAS4. Has anyone succesfully used this ram with this board?

also, does the current revision come with the heatsink on the southbridge?

ta.

Thanks
    ok, i have found out that if you have cas4 ram and the ds3 wont boot. you can work round it by using a different stick of ram and upping the voltage to whatever it should be and then powering down and fitting the cas4 stuff back in...sounds like a right ballache

Thanks
    Bit late but i just come across this topic/thread, anyway i just got one of these motherboards and some Corsair 5400C4, i'm no expert, just enthusiastic, hehe!!, anyway i built the rig tuesday afternoon (e6600+ds3+2gb 5400c4), yep slapped it all together switched on rig and was good to go, no problems what so ever (wayhay, that's a first for me, thanks scan uk for no rma) nipped into bios to set the ram @ 4.4.4.12, was default at 5.5.5. something this is on the F3 bios which was factory shipped that way, so i nipped over to gigabyte site, downloaded F5 bios, copied to floppy, flashed to F5, no problems, it's great all is well at the mo, just need to read manual and understand/workout what everything else is and how i should set it up to get max performance.

You got it sorted then? was it an earlier bios F1, F2?.

Thanks
    there was a new bios to sort out the memory problems aparently, but that was after mine died, taking an x1900xt with it (or maybe the other way round), either way, it was possibly THE worst board i have ever used. good luck with yours mate

Thanks
    • cptwhite_uk's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450i Gaming plus Wifi
      • CPU:
      • AMD Ryzen 3700X
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb DRR4 Trident Z 3200 C16