Thread: PC Builder Total Newbie...

Thanks

PC Builder Total Newbie...

allright and how do Hexers' !

as the title says i am a complete novice and what i know about building a pc from scratch i have gathered from the web and books, i've read the guide that was started back in 2005 (by Stewart) and it was helpfull but i still have a couple of basic questions that i cant find, so if anyone can please...,

at the moment i'm thinking of going core2duo, i think im right in saying these CPUs' come supplied with a hink sink, and since i'm not really going for overclocking, the standard heat sink will suffice (as in the '05 guide), but is a thermal paste also supplied with the package?

On the gigabyte Mobo i'm planning to use, it specifies one system fan and one CPU fan, this is worrying cause does this mean that i can only have one case fan?!

Quality wise, are CRT screens better than DVI TFTs', i can understand the aesthetic appeal of LCD, but if a cheaper and higher quality alternative takes up more space i'd rather go for that. i had my i on Samsung SM 940bf 19''.

I gather that an anti static enviroment, i.e. work top is needed to prevent ruining the componants, with a wristband tied to a plug (?) that can carry the charge away. Any tricks here would be helpfull coz i really cant afford a table (£50!).

thanks in advance,

P.s ....Got milk?

Thanks
    • danroyle's system
      • Motherboard:
      • N/A
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core I7 4720HQ
      • Memory:
      • 8GB
      • Storage:
      • 128GB SSD +1tb HDD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Geforce Gtx960m
      • PSU:
      • N/A
      • Case:
      • N/A
      • Operating System:
      • WINDOWS 10 64bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • 15.6" IPS
      • Internet:
      • BT Fibre
    first yes paste is normally on the hsf with the cpu