Thread: New Build, big Problem - randow restarts

Thanks

New Build, big Problem - randow restarts

All,

I have just built my new PC a week ago and it has been generally very stable apart from 2 random restarts which happened whilst I was installing various software from CD's after setting up windows (which did not show a BSOD but wrote a error stop 102 in the event log), however I did not see any repeat of these, and have been using te PC intensively for office apps and extracting AVI files onto DVD's for watching on my home cinema system.

However until I started playing World of warcraft at the weekend while installing another game in the background from a CD. The machine restarted- no BSOD, no error in the event logs, just the power going off and the machine restarting.

It *seems* that as soon as the DVD drive & hard disk is working while I am doing something graphically intensive, the machine restarts - the only way I could reproduce the restart was to load up WOW and have a cd/dvd related activity going on at the same time. Any time I do this, at some point within a minute of setting it all off, the machine restarts.

I can run the machine stable doing office apps no problem, and have played warcraft for a couple of hours with no problem, and have installed a lot of software from the DVD drive.

Here is what I have checked:-

- Temps - According to PC Probe the CPU runs 45 idle, 55 maxed out and when these restarts happen it has not been higher than 50. I have had it running stable with higher temps encoding DVD's.
    - IRQ - graphics card is on it's own IRQ, DVD drive is not sharing an IRQ.

Any ideas what could be causing this? Could it be either memory of the PSU? I have a 620W PSU, so I cannot believe that I am overloading it!