Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete novice requires some guidance.

Thanks
    • mycarsavw's system
      • Motherboard:
      • P8H77-M Pro
      • CPU:
      • i5 3350P
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb
      • Storage:
      • Lots
      • Graphics card(s):
      • R9 285
      • PSU:
      • HX 620w
      • Case:
      • FD Define Mini
      • Operating System:
      • W10
      • Monitor(s):
      • BenQ G2420HDBL + GL2450HT
      • Internet:
      • Sky

Complete novice requires some guidance.

Right, here goes.

I've been reading for ages, compiling mental and physical lists of what I want, filling my basket with goodies and so on. I now think I know what I want, I'd just like someone with more knowledge than myself to cast their eyes over my choices and slate/praise where necessary.

I used to build PCs in the days of Win95/98 so the process of putting it together doesn't bother me at all, it's what to actually put in it that has got me scratching my head.

The new computer will be mainly used by my children for surfing t'internet, doing homework and generally messing about. If it's good enough for me for a bit of gaming, that's a bonus. Budget is roughly £650.00 to include everything. This may be flexible depending on VAT mentioned below.

On to the fun part;

Motherboard - Asus P5B Telesky - Scan code LN17290 - £91.05

CPU - Intel Core Duo E6300 - Scan code LN15047 - £118.73

Memory - Corsair 2 x 512MB - Scan code LN15367 - £86.94

GPU - XFX 7600GS - Scan code LN14797 - £62.26

HDD - Samsung Spinpoint 160gb - Scan code LN9709 - £37.00

Optical Drive 1 - Samsung 18x18 DVDRW - Scan code LN14972 - £19.16

Optical Drive 2 - Samsung 48x CD-ROM / 46x DVD-ROM - Scan code LN4884 - £11.62

Case - Antec Nine Hundred - Scan code LN16718 - £75.14

PSU - 580W HiperPower Type-R - Scan code LN11004 - £57.58

That totals £576.56 all in but I may be able to lose the VAT element so that would bring it down to £490.69

Leaving the balance for;