Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 107

Thread: new commando thread that hopefully is not cursed but the old one

  1. #1
    its all clear now
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked
    19 times in 17 posts
    • No.72's system
      • Motherboard:
      • commando
      • CPU:
      • e6300 3.50ghz artic 7
      • Memory:
      • 4gb corsair red tracers
      • Storage:
      • 320gb RAID0
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 4870XT
      • PSU:
      • 620 watt corsair
      • Case:
      • coolmaster 831 SE orange
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2407WFP AO4
      • Internet:
      • 10 meg virgin

    new commando thread that hopefully is not cursed but the old one


    anyway, this is what I have, now this is scary, please can somebody tell me wth is going on and why are RAM able to hit thoes speeds with thoes volts, unless I am wrong and I am pumping through way too many volts.

    well its a start

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    20 times in 18 posts
    • excalibur2's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Z77-d3h
      • CPU:
      • Intel 2500k @4.4ghz
      • Memory:
      • 2X4gb Corsair Vengeance
      • Storage:
      • WD 2tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • R290
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 750
      • Case:
      • Haf-x tower
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell u2410
      • Internet:
      • broadband with Plusnet
    Well I'm confused with the old thread, when this commando board is sorted out, I hope someone puts a sticky up on how to set it up.

  3. #3
    Old Fool!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    1,027
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked
    37 times in 31 posts
    • EtheAv8r's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Maximus V Gene
      • CPU:
      • i5 3570K @ 4500 Mhz
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb
      • Storage:
      • 2 x Samsung EVO 850 SSD; 1 x Samsung 2TB HD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GeForce GTX 970
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic S-12 650 Energy+
      • Case:
      • Corsair Carbide
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Home 64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2713H
      • Internet:
      • BT Infinity II
    ... well mine will run at 300*10 simply by raising FSB to 300 and making no other changes. I have Corsair XMS2 Dominator 8500 CAS5 which is documented to want 2.1v for it's lunch, with a max of 2.2v but I am keeping it starved at stock at the mo....

    427 is a good FSB for a bogy board.... is it stable?
    Try to make each and every day the best it can be.

  4. #4
    its all clear now
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked
    19 times in 17 posts
    • No.72's system
      • Motherboard:
      • commando
      • CPU:
      • e6300 3.50ghz artic 7
      • Memory:
      • 4gb corsair red tracers
      • Storage:
      • 320gb RAID0
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 4870XT
      • PSU:
      • 620 watt corsair
      • Case:
      • coolmaster 831 SE orange
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2407WFP AO4
      • Internet:
      • 10 meg virgin
    well I ran orthos for 10 mins and the computer re-started with the temps at 75-77 deg's, so that is a no. I can clock it loads but the cpu just gets really hot.
    water cooling!

  5. #5
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    All these bad commando's are making me turn to the DQ6 unless asus gets this sorted soon very soon.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    IF everything is ok there is very little setting up to do. all i've done is tweaked vdimm & main memoruy timings all other voltages are on auto.

    1) 334x9 1:1 8hr orthos



    2) 3500 389x9 1:1

    No problems until i started ortos running ok for around 5 minutes but with temps around 65 i bottled out.

    3) 3300 367x9 1:1
    ]
    Looks pretty good temps appear reasonable will run orthos overnight on this.
    Last edited by Supershanks; 16-02-2007 at 12:06 AM.

  7. #7
    its all clear now
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked
    19 times in 17 posts
    • No.72's system
      • Motherboard:
      • commando
      • CPU:
      • e6300 3.50ghz artic 7
      • Memory:
      • 4gb corsair red tracers
      • Storage:
      • 320gb RAID0
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 4870XT
      • PSU:
      • 620 watt corsair
      • Case:
      • coolmaster 831 SE orange
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2407WFP AO4
      • Internet:
      • 10 meg virgin
    Quote Originally Posted by Supershanks View Post
    IF everything is ok there is very little setting up to do. all i've done is tweaked vdimm & main memoruy timings all other voltages are on auto.

    1) [img="http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~chsmith/Asus_Clocks/334x9@1-1-8hr%20orthos.JPG"]334x9 1:1 8hr orthos[/img]

    2) 3500 389x9 1:1No problems until i started ortos running ok for around 5 minutes but with temps around 65 i bottled out.

    3) 3300 367x9 1:1 Looks pretty good temps appear reasonable will run orthos overnight on this.

    what cooling are you using that is brill!?
    Do you think removing the northbrige (i think thats what it's for) heatpipes and getting a proper thermal contact will help the cpu temps?

  8. #8
    Old Fool!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    1,027
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked
    37 times in 31 posts
    • EtheAv8r's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Maximus V Gene
      • CPU:
      • i5 3570K @ 4500 Mhz
      • Memory:
      • 16Gb
      • Storage:
      • 2 x Samsung EVO 850 SSD; 1 x Samsung 2TB HD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GeForce GTX 970
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic S-12 650 Energy+
      • Case:
      • Corsair Carbide
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Home 64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2713H
      • Internet:
      • BT Infinity II
    First thing I did with my board was remove the heatpipes, clean off the gunk, attempt to get the heatpipe cooling faces flat and parallell - there was a bit of twist that would not be good contact, and re-install with quality paste.....
    Try to make each and every day the best it can be.

  9. #9
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Stupid question but what bios version you running.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    Cooling = Cool Commando Mod repasting original pipes does help, same applies to all mobos. CPU cooler = Zalman CNPS9500-AT

    sorry bios is 0801-BTA

    Tmp2 = homebrew pwm cooler
    tmp3 = memory module heatsink (leeward side of airflow - not currently using memory fans.

    Edit
    What i think has also helped is i've reversed the airflow through the case. airflow is rear to front. This means there's a lot of cool air from rear 120mm fan going about 2~3" into the zalman, out over memory & exhausted by front 120m fan.

    Rear 120mm Intake to zalman Lian-Li Hood guides air down as well.
    Zalman mounted facing rear
    Zalman exhaust over memory
    main rear to front airflow 120mm exhaust fan suspended on drive bays
    Front exhaust vent = empty Scythe KAMA-BAY Black System Cooler
    Last edited by Supershanks; 16-02-2007 at 01:25 AM.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts

    9x367 looks pretty stable 10hr overnight orthos blend.
    Think i'll maybe try 3400 see if temps are ok. Would be nice to run 24/7 around 3.3~3.4k temps permitting

  12. #12
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Supershanks,

    You'll easily do 3.4g, infact i had it running at 3.375, under full load playing BF2142 for 10 hrs with avg temp of 48degrees.

    For some reason once you breach the 3.5g-3.6 gig the temps go above 55 degrees and personally that a lil hot for me. The 3.4 barrier at 408 FSB got me temps up 65-70 and like others I bottled out of it at that stage.

    Mem Set 3.1: I've never used this tool before, what does it do? Is it of good use?

    I'll run some further tests on Monday across all ranges of OC'ing and grab some screenies of Orthos and CPUz.

    L8rs
    Shafty

  13. #13
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts


    testing jpg link?

  14. #14
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Any know how I can get pics uploaded onto the forum?

  15. #15
    its all clear now
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked
    19 times in 17 posts
    • No.72's system
      • Motherboard:
      • commando
      • CPU:
      • e6300 3.50ghz artic 7
      • Memory:
      • 4gb corsair red tracers
      • Storage:
      • 320gb RAID0
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 4870XT
      • PSU:
      • 620 watt corsair
      • Case:
      • coolmaster 831 SE orange
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2407WFP AO4
      • Internet:
      • 10 meg virgin
    Quote Originally Posted by shaftyboyire View Post
    Any know how I can get pics uploaded onto the forum?
    LOL here you go http://imageshack.us/
    I hope it is good news

  16. #16
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Ok here goes I'll try again

    The following jpg includes CSS stress test as im a big CSS player.

    At this clock again i was getting high 40's which is still grand

    Last edited by shaftyboyire; 16-02-2007 at 03:56 PM.

Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Idea for a new thread (but not the thread itself)
    By MSIC in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 04:02 PM
  2. Thread Rating
    By XTR in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 24-07-2003, 03:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •