Thread: New Camera - What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
    • dankellys's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
      • CPU:
      • 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5 3570K 3.40GHz
      • Memory:
      • Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
      • Storage:
      • Seagate 1TB ST1000DM003 + Samsung 128GB SSD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 2GB XFX Radeon HD 7870 Core Edition, 4800MHz
      • PSU:
      • OCZ ZS Series 550W
      • Case:
      • Zalman Z9-U3 Mid
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • ViewSonic VIE 23 IPS 1920x1080 6MS
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 60Mb B/B

New Camera - What am I doing wrong?

Just looking for a little bit of advice. I am brand new to photography, and just got myself a D3200. Decided to take it out for the first time today, but have had real problems with over/under exposure (see example below).

I have tried all sorts of settings, but just started to confuse myself and ended up back with using the 'landscape setting' on the settings dial (which still didnt seem to get the exposure right...). I found that when I was in 'M' mode on the dial, I could not change all of the settings I wanted to be able to change, such as the F number for example. On some shots I could get it to go down as low as 4, where as in others it wouldn't go lower than 5.6, why is this? Same goes for shutter speeds, some shots allowed my to go as high as 1/4000 and some would only let me go as high as 1/200. I am clearly doing something wrong... Anyway, here are some examples:

ISO400 - 24mm - f/11 - 1/400sec

ISO100 - 32mm - f/4.8 - 1/200sec

ISO100 - 24mm - f/20 - 1/30sec

ISO100 - 24mm - f/4.0 - 1/500sec

ISO100 - 24mm - f/6.3 - 1/200sec
    Last edited by dankellys; 15-04-2013 at 06:32 PM.