Thread: Gaming PC for around £700

Thanks

Gaming PC for around £700

Hi all, first post here but know you guys are the experts and I am in safe hands

Its my birthday in March and I want to replace my aging Gateway gaming laptop for a Desktop. I'm not currently playing anything too taxing (mostly Warcraft tbh) but would like a system that has potential to play all the nice FPS games and that is also fairly future proof.

I already bought an LG 24" 5ms IPS monitor, and I will re-use the 128Gb SSD that is currently in my laptop. So basically I need a Gaming PC system with OS.

I appreciate prices will undoubtedly lower/change before March but I just want an idea of a sweet spot for a gaming PC and would love to get some advice from the experts. I work in IT, have previous experience building PC's (it was 10+ years ago though!) so if it really is going to be loads cheaper to buy the components and assemble them myself then so be it.

So far, I have found the following pre-made PC's:-

Medion P5315 i7-3770, 64Gb SSD, 8Gb DDR, GTX 660 (I know they don't have the greatest rep)
    - unable to post link atm, but its on the Medion site, currently offering £30 discount

DinoPC Black Ops II i5-3570K, No SSD, 8Gb DDR, GTX 660 (lower spec, but possibly better build quality?)
    - unable to post link, but again its on their site

Both come in at around £720.

Any help/guidance appreciated

Thanks
    • Bonebreaker777's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI H97I AC
      • CPU:
      • Xeon 1225 v3 + Freezer 11 L
      • Memory:
      • 2 x 4GB 1600Mhz 1T-8-8-8-20 1.35V Crucial BallistiX Tactical VLP
      • Storage:
      • 128GB CRUCIAL MX100///XPEnology server + 3 x WD Purple 3TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Intel HD 4600
      • PSU:
      • be quiet! L8 300W PSU BN220
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master Elite 120
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro 64bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
      • Internet:
      • Virgin 100Mb