Thread: What PSU to get?

Thanks

What PSU to get?

Hi, so I'm new to the PC world and looking to build my first PC. I have all of my parts selected apart from the PSU. i was thinking of getting the Corsair Rmx (2018) 850W but not sure if there is something better for a similar price?
    Not sure if this info is needed but I am going to be getting a ryzen 5600x and either the 3080 or 6800XT

Registered+
    Thanks

Re: What PSU to get?

This Gamers Nexus video should equip you well for deciding what size of PSU to get:
    https://youtu.be/X_wtoCBahhM

In most systems, the CPU and the GPU are going to dictate most of the power usage. The rest of the components (motherboard, disks, RAM) will also consume some power too.

In your case, the 5600X is ~65W. The 3080 is ~320W. The 6800XT is ~300W. So the CPU and GPU require about ~400W.

We also need to add the other components. I'd ballpark it and add about 200W, unless you're planning to hook up a lot of HDDs (~15-20W each when spinning up!). This is quite generous, but it is considered unhealthy to run the PSU at 100% load all the time, so this also gives it some buffer. That gives us about 600W total.

Curiously enough, the full specs on the Nvidia 3080 site say that total system power (e.g. PSU) should be 750W. I'm not sure what they base this off, considering this is only the GPU and Nvidia wouldn't know about any of the other components. I suspect this is just a wild (and fairly safe) guess on their part.

If you've already decided on most of the parts of the system, if you add all of those parts to the system builder on PCPartPicker, it'll give you an estimate on the wattage required. Do note that it may not know all the parts' wattages, so be sure to watch the video above and make a call.

Once you've decided the wattage, it is then a case of choosing the efficiency/price/brand you like. Once again, the video above can tell you how much each matters.

Registered+
    Thanks

Check this calculator out