• CM Silent Pro Gold 600W
      • Case:
      • CM Elite 370
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster P2450

Review: Fractal Design Node 804 & Kelvin S24

So lucky me, lucky me I was one of the winners of the recent Fractal Design competition. No longer can I moan about "never winning anything".

Right off the bat, I think it's best to give you all an idea about myself. In Hexus terms I'm not particularly tech-savvy. I'm a self-taught self-builder of moderate experience, having put together about ten computers - two for myself and a few for friends and family. I don't know much more about components than what is necessary to know at the time of building, but I do generally keep up to date with things a bit via Hexus. So what I'm basically saying is this: take this is a layperson's review.

Node 804
    I have to confess the case is a component I usually scrimp on, having never spent more than say £30 on one. My current Coolermaster Elite 370 being fairly typical. The reason for this is my PC spends its time in a cupboard within my desk. More on that later (best cliffhanger since HL2 Episode 2?). I have to say on first impressions, the Node 804 really shines. It has a nice brushed aluminium finish which looks the bees knees compared to the garish plastic piano black of my Elite 370.