• Fractal Design S (Windowed)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64.
      • Monitor(s):
      • Iiyama ProLite E24B3HS 24", LG Flatron L1950SQ19"
      • Internet:
      • Plusnet (infinity)

the 3rd Fractal Design Define S Case (Windowed Version) Review

This is my first attempt at a review on these forums, so any comments you have would help me enormously. On a side note can I thank the other reviewers (Pleiades and =assassin=) for their articles. I have chosen not to include any photos at this time since they have already covered this adequately.

I'd also like to thank Hexus and Fractal for the case competition. I'm not someone who regularly upgrades their computer any more, but I am very glad to win a new case as my Cooler Master CM690 had started to develop some very annoying rattles ...

Fractal Design Define S

The case arrived at the third attempt packaged in a suitably chunky box yet was surprisingly light considering it's size. Opening the box I found the case had been well protected using the standard shaped polystyrene sections. Mere seconds later and the case was out for me to tinker with while my cat was quickly in, happy in it's new cardboard playhouse.

The black and white contrast design blew me away. I'm fairly fortunate in my job that I get to handle plenty of computers, but rarely for a case in this price range has as much care gone into the build quality. No sharp edges, plenty of space and beautifully designed. Needless to say that first appearances were extremely positive.

The pictorial instruction booklet was easy to follow and within a few minutes I had access to all areas. Starting with the cooling I decided to fit the other part of the prize, the Fractal Venturi HF-14 fans. The fans are produced with vibration dampening rubber corners making them compatible with both 140 or 120 mm slots, however the interesting design results in screws that cannot be adequately tightened, potentially causing a future rattle risk.