• Ghost S1 V2
      • Operating System:
      • W10
      • Monitor(s):
      • LG IPS 27" 144Hz QHD
      • Internet:
      • three4g & nighthawk MR1100

MSI MAG CORELIQUID 360R Reader Review by wazzickle - Dec 2020

As a small-form factor enthusiast, I’ve been building HTPCs for a few years, relying on my Playstation 4 for any gaming needs, but I recently sold it and have decided to move to PC gaming, and as such have started to consider liquid cooling. Could I get better results than regular air-cooling, at a reasonable price point? MSI kindly donated the CoreLiquid 360R (I don’t know about you, but it took me a few weeks of seeing that word before I worked out that it was Core – liquid, not Co – reliquid) for me to see if I can eke out any improvements.
    My standard gaming setup wasn’t quite right for this – firstly, my i5 10500, while helping me towards 100+ fps at QHD at full settings in modern games like Call of Duty: Warzone, only has a TDP of 65W, not really tasking any proper cooling setup. Secondly, my case, the NCase M1, can only fit a 120mm radiator. Fortunately, I’ve been looking at expanding my inventory anyway. Here’s my test setup:

Case: DeepCool E-shield

Motherboard: MSI B75IA

CPU: i5 3570k

RAM: 2x 8Gb Crucial Ballistix DDR3 1600MHz

Storage: 500 Gb Samsung 850 Evo

GPU: Asus Strix 1070

PSU: Corsair TX550M

Monitor: LG 27” QHD IPS

Thermal Paste: Arctic MX-4

I’m not experienced or skilled at overclocking so I set the MSI UEFI to auto-overclock – it being eight-year old tech, we shouldn’t expect much improvement, recent auto-overclocking software using AI. The auto-overclocking software requires several reboots in order to settle down and find it’s target so care was taken to make sure it was happy and stable before running each test.