Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scan RMA - worth the hassle?

Thanks

Scan RMA - worth the hassle?

Hello everybody - I've been buying my kit from Scan since Christmas 2008, I only used Scan on an irregular basis before that. I ordered components for a full system just after Christmas 2008, which included two Samsung DVD-RW drives.

I want to keep this as short as possible, but here is what has happened;

- after four months of use, one of the Samsung drives developed a suspected fault - I would open the CD tray, and most of the time it would immediately close by itself. I performed thorough testing and concluded that the drive was faulty.

- emailed Scan RMA and sent the drive back.
    - next day got an email saying drive was not faulty.
    - I queried this with Amanda S over the phone, and Michael W via email. Scan wanted to charge me £20 test fee and £10 return shipping for a £15 drive!!!
    - I provided more info as per Michael's request, he said he'd try to get it tested again.
    - heard nothing for a day.
    - got emails saying the drive was coming back, tested non-faulty.
    - received drive today, plugged it straight onto a different PSU, stand-alone (no motherboard or anything, just the drive and PSU) - several times I powered the drive up and down and was able to replicate the fault immediately. Before sending the drive back I had tried the drive in two (different) full PC systems and the fault persisted, which I explained in my initial RMA request.
    - Rang Scan back and told them the drive WAS faulty - by luck spoke to Amanda again. I told her that I'd filmed the drive and could send her the movie, which I did.
    - they emailed me back this afternoon saying I should try it with a different PSU - sorry, but I thought I told you that I have already taken this measure. The drive is faulty for sure. Video evidence is not enough for you???