Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which is recommended-Vista Basic vs XP Pro for complete newbie to computers?

X10
    Registered+
    Thanks

Which is recommended-Vista Basic vs XP Pro for complete newbie to computers?

Hello all,
    My girlfriend recently had a laptop bought for her with Vista Basic pre-loaded on it.
    I'd like to know what the general jist of things is with regards to the 'usability' of Windows Vista Basic vs. Windows XP Pro is.

She is a complete newbie when it comes to computers, her extent of use is she can type and save a Word Document and check her Hotmail, that is it.

I thought that Vista had been designed with complete newbies in mind with it's bells and whistles, that I as a seasoned user would just find annoying, but might be better for her as someone that isn't very logical.

I'll most likely be supporting her to help do things, but as I have no experience with Vista, and loading it up & seeing it the first time really put me off, I considered putting XP Pro onto it.

So what do you all think, would she be better off learning to use her own first computer with Vista Basic or should I install XP Pro?

All help and advice appreciated.
    (Feel free to point me in the right direction if such a question has been dealt with already, I did a search but couldn't find anything as specific).
    X10

Thanks

Re: Which is recommended-Vista Basic vs XP Pro for complete newbie to computers?

From a user interface point of view, there isn't a huge amount of changes between them.
    Control panel is a bit different, a few icons have changed locations, it looks a bit prettier....but that's about it really.
    Microsoft would never go changing things enough so that users of XP had to re-learn Vista. It would be suicide.

I'm almost certain when I say that any seasoned XP user would have no problem finding out everythings 'new' place in Vista within a week of casual use.