Thread: Fresh install and itunes

Thanks

Fresh install and itunes

I'm hoping to install XP onto a new hdd for somebody as their pc has been messed up beyond repair, I've done this countless times on various operating systems but I've had no experience with itunes what so ever, literally none, I've never even used it or seen it! - Yes really!

I've heard a few horror stories on various forums... my plan is to take the current hdd out of action and leave it with everthing on it as is. Put in the new hdd and install XP to this - that gives me a backup should the reinstall go pear shaped.

How should I treat itunes? - Space for media files is not an issue, there's a 1tb external I can dump tunes on - There's 2 itouches involved, 1 or 2 ipods and an i phone to contend with - I have no idea how all this stuff works, so this is my only concern.

Also, as a slight aside, since this is a Dell machine and an OEM copy of XP, will there be an issue if I try to install it on a new HDD which will be of different spec to the old one? - Everything else is the same - mobo etc.

Banhammer in peace PeterB kalniel's Avatar
    Thanks
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
      • CPU:
      • Intel i9 9900k
      • Memory:
      • 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 970Evo+ NVMe
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell S2721DGF
      • Internet:
      • rubbish

Re: Fresh install and itunes

The OEM install should be fine with the new hard drive - activation should go through online without issue.